Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
#9
![]()
posted to rec.boats.racing
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
Walt wrote:
[snip] BTW, I wasn't a participant in this situation, so I really don't have a dog in this fight. I'm interested in finding out the correct answer, not some sort of vindication of my position. My *opinion* is that M is not entitled to room under 18.5, but a contrary opinion is that M is entitled to room because there's enough space for her to fit between the hulls. Is it the the distance between the hulls that count, or is it the hull and boom? Looking for supporting arguments one way or the other... //Walt Walt, There are few rules or appeals that specifically mention the hull as opposed to the complete equipment on a boat. For example, there is no question that touching a sail constitutes contact, even if the sail is an out of control spinnaker. Touching a line dragging in the water is also contact. The only two cases I can think of where an unusual position of equipment would be questioned are the classic cartoon showing extreme spinnaker position at the finish line and a deliberate sudden repositioning of the boom or a sail to block or hit an overtaking boat. The latter is probably a Rule 2 violation. Sailboat racing isn't quite NASCAR or Roller Derby yet. In the situation you described it would appear that the W boat had a perfectly valid reason to have the boom extended over the side of the boat. The boom is part of the overall envelope of the W boat. I agree with your position. Regards, Gene Fuller |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Forum | |||
Mercury Mark 58,piston question | General | |||
Obstruction - Start / Finish Line | General | |||
Friday Ethics Question | General | |||
Winterizing question plus. | General | |||
Exhaust question on inboard 1958 Chris Craft | General |