Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
#11
![]()
posted to rec.boats.racing
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
Walt wrote:
My *opinion* is that M is not entitled to room under 18.5, but a contrary opinion is that M is entitled to room because there's enough space for her to fit between the hulls. Is it the the distance between the hulls that count, or is it the hull and boom? Looking for supporting arguments one way or the other... Personally, I would not want to go in front of a protest committee and argue the claim that "room" meant the physical constraint of space between hulls. Is beam plus 1 inch "room?" It's also possible that once the boat in middle puts her nose in, the windward boat could not trim in her boom without clipping th eboat in the middle's forestay since it swings aft as it swings in. Oops! Gene Fuller wrote: There are few rules or appeals that specifically mention the hull as opposed to the complete equipment on a boat. For example, there is no question that touching a sail constitutes contact, even if the sail is an out of control spinnaker. Touching a line dragging in the water is also contact. The only two cases I can think of where an unusual position of equipment would be questioned are the classic cartoon showing extreme spinnaker position at the finish line and a deliberate sudden repositioning of the boom or a sail to block or hit an overtaking boat. Such as leaving the sprit out on a sportboat while sailing to windward? Or the case of Il Moro during one of the San Diego America's Cup, who gybed just before crossing the line so as to let their spinnaker blow out further in front... the judges called it by the relative positions of the stemhead, anyway (a call I disagreed with). I think the classic example would be towing a 100' floating line while on starboard, and pulling it in when on port. In the situation you described it would appear that the W boat had a perfectly valid reason to have the boom extended over the side of the boat. The boom is part of the overall envelope of the W boat. I agree with your position. Walt wrote: While I agree that W had a valid reason to have her boom out, I don't think W is *required* to have a valid reason. The fact is that the hulls were X cm wide and there was less than X cm between W's boom and L's hull when the overlap obtained. To me that says "no room". I also agree but there is no telling what a protest committe will decide. Unless someone can come up with a valid reason why W should be compelled to set her sail a certain way. BTW, I've searched through the rules and the casebook for examples of the notion of "equipment in normal position" and I don't see anything that applies here. Maybe I'm missing something... Is there a defined "normal position" for gear when maneuvering to start? There is no definite course or point of sail. Fresh Breezes- Doug King |
#12
![]()
posted to rec.boats.racing
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
In article ,
DSK wrote: BTW, I've searched through the rules and the casebook for examples of the notion of "equipment in normal position" and I don't see anything that applies here. Maybe I'm missing something... Is there a defined "normal position" for gear when maneuvering to start? There is no definite course or point of sail. There's certainly nothing unseamanlike about letting your main luff so you can slow down. I do that whenever I'm picking up a mooring or sailing up to a dock. The whole "normal position" thing is really about the reason something is where it is. If it's there because there's some boat-handling reason for it to be there, then it's "normal". If it's only there because it gives you some tactical advantage to have it sticking out, then it's not "normal". "My boom was way out because I was luffing my main to slow down so I wouldn't be over early", that's normal position. "My boom was way out because I wanted to keep leeward boats away", that's not normal position. |
#13
![]()
posted to rec.boats.racing
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
Roy Smith wrote:
DSK wrote: BTW, I've searched through the rules and the casebook for examples of the notion of "equipment in normal position" and I don't see anything that applies here. Maybe I'm missing something... Is there a defined "normal position" for gear when maneuvering to start? There is no definite course or point of sail. Not that I can find anywhere. There's certainly nothing unseamanlike about letting your main luff so you can slow down. I do that whenever I'm picking up a mooring or sailing up to a dock. The whole "normal position" thing is really about the reason something is where it is. If it's there because there's some boat-handling reason for it to be there, then it's "normal". If it's only there because it gives you some tactical advantage to have it sticking out, then it's not "normal". Or if it's there by mistake, like letting a line drag behind you. "My boom was way out because I was luffing my main to slow down so I wouldn't be over early", that's normal position. "My boom was way out because I wanted to keep leeward boats away", that's not normal position. I agree with you on the meaning of "normal position", however there is nothing in the rules stating that you have to keep your equipment in normal position. In that regard it's sort of like the concept of "proper course" - we can agree on what it means, but there are actually only a few situations where the rules explicitly state that you must sail a proper course. Likewise, the only place I can find a notion of "equipment in normal position" is in the definitions of Overlap and Finish, and those cites don't proscribe having gear out of normal position. So, on the one hand, there is nothing in the rules compelling a boat to keep her gear in normal position. On the other hand, there are a few examples of boats being DQed or penalized for deliberately placing their equipment out of normal position for a tactical advantage. Is this one of them? Maybe Doug has it right with "there is no telling what a protest committe will decide." //Walt |
Reply |
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Forum | |||
Mercury Mark 58,piston question | General | |||
Obstruction - Start / Finish Line | General | |||
Friday Ethics Question | General | |||
Winterizing question plus. | General | |||
Exhaust question on inboard 1958 Chris Craft | General |