Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
posted to rec.boats.racing
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by BoatBanter: Jul 2006
Posts: 348
Default Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question

Here's the scenario:

Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close
reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down.
Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between
boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough
space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough
space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here?

IOW, does "room" as cited in 18.5 include only the hulls or is it
"equipment in normal position"? Seems to me it would be the latter, but
I can't find an explicit cite of "equipment in normal position" in the
definition of room

Note: W is not sailing backwards by backing a sail.

For reference, here's 18.5

18.5 Passing a Continuing Obstruction
While boats are passing a continuing obstruction, rules 18.2(b) and
18.2(c) do not apply. A boat clear astern that obtains an inside overlap
is entitled to room to pass between the other boat and the obstruction
only if at the moment the overlap begins there is room to do so. If
there is not, she is not entitled to room and shall keep clear.

Here's the definition of Room: The space a boat needs in the existing
conditions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way.

Thanks.

//Walt
  #2   Report Post  
posted to rec.boats.racing
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by BoatBanter: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question

Walt wrote:
Here's the scenario:

Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close
reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat
M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W
and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for
M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for
her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here?

IOW, does "room" as cited in 18.5 include only the hulls or is it
"equipment in normal position"? Seems to me it would be the latter, but
I can't find an explicit cite of "equipment in normal position" in the
definition of room

Note: W is not sailing backwards by backing a sail.

For reference, here's 18.5

18.5 Passing a Continuing Obstruction
While boats are passing a continuing obstruction, rules 18.2(b) and
18.2(c) do not apply. A boat clear astern that obtains an inside overlap
is entitled to room to pass between the other boat and the obstruction
only if at the moment the overlap begins there is room to do so. If
there is not, she is not entitled to room and shall keep clear.

Here's the definition of Room: The space a boat needs in the existing
conditions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way.

Thanks.

//Walt


Walt,

It is not apparent that Rule 18 applies at all. You did not say anything
about the proximity to starting line marks so it is not clear whether
18.1(a) is in effect. The leeward boat (obstruction) does not have a
required side, so that would also eliminate Rule 18 from consideration.

It seems to me that only Rule 15 is in play in the situation described.
Rule 16 may also apply. In addition, if the starting signal has already
been made, there may be a proper course issue subject to Rule 17.

The middle boat can definitely force the windward boat to head up, as
long as the windward boat is given time and room to do so.

Regards,
Gene Fuller
  #3   Report Post  
posted to rec.boats.racing
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by BoatBanter: Jul 2006
Posts: 348
Default Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question

Gene Fuller wrote:
Walt wrote:


Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a
close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow
down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in
between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is
enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not
enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to
room here?



It is not apparent that Rule 18 applies at all. You did not say anything
about the proximity to starting line marks so it is not clear whether
18.1(a) is in effect.


You are right that I didn't say anything about proximity to the starting
marks. This happened in the middle of the line far from the starting
marks. The only obstructions in the picture are other boats. 18.1 is
not in effect.

The leeward boat (obstruction) does not have a
required side, so that would also eliminate Rule 18 from consideration.


Um, no.

Rule 18 applies when boats are about to round or pass a mark
they are required to leave on the same side, or an obstruction
on the same side, until they have passed it.

Read that carefully. A *mark* must have a required side for rule 18 to
apply, but an obstruction need not have a required side. All that has
to happen is for the boats to be passing the obstruction on the same
side and rule 18 applies.

Boats that you are required to avoid are obstructions. In particular, L
is an obstruction to M and W because they must keep clear of L. It's a
continuing obstruction because M and W will be sailing along side it for
a while.

//Walt
  #4   Report Post  
posted to rec.boats.racing
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by BoatBanter: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question

Walt wrote:
Here's the scenario:

Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close
reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down.
Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between
boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough
space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough
space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here?


L doesn't really come into the picture. This is purely a question of
M and W.

Initially, M is clear astern:

12 ON THE SAME TACK, NOT OVERLAPPED
When boats are on the same tack and not overlapped, a boat clear
astern shall keep clear of a boat clear ahead.

At some point, M becomes overlapped with W. W now has to keep clear
of M, but, M is restricted by:

15 ACQUIRING RIGHT OF WAY
When a boat acquires right of way, she shall initially give the other
boat room to keep clear, unless she acquires right of way because of
the other boat's actions.

Since there is no proper course before the start (see the definition
of Proper Course), 17.1 does not come into play. So, W needs to keep
clear of M, but she doesn't need to begin maneuvering to keep clear
until the overlap is established, and even then, she only has to
maneuver in a seamanlike manner. She's got to trim her boom back
inside the sheerline, but only needs to do so hand-over-hand on the
sheet; she doesn't need to grab all parts of a multi-part mainsheet
system and do a panic trim. She needs to head up to stay clear, but
doesn't need to throw the helm hard over.

Furthermore, if W's boom was so far out and you stuck your bow so
close in that in the course of her normal trimming of the mainsheet
the swinging boom hit your forestay, then I'd say you didn't give W
sufficient room. Probably not an issue on something like a J/24 with
a fairly short boom, but it certainly could be with a longer boom
(perhaps even one that overhangs the transom).

IOW, does "room" as cited in 18.5 include only the hulls or is it
"equipment in normal position"?


I don't see that 18.5 has anything to do with this. 18.5 talks about
a "continuing obstruction", which is generally taken to mean
the shoreline, a long dock, a fishing net, or the like. Where I sail,
there's some kind of marine construction project going on, and there's
a long line of pilings driven into the bottom near the edge of the
bay. They're spaced a couple of boatlengths apart, and the line goes
on for 1/4 mile or more; I'd call that a continuing obstruction. A
boat to leeward of you does not fit that definition.
  #5   Report Post  
posted to rec.boats.racing
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by BoatBanter: Jul 2006
Posts: 348
Default Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question

Roy Smith wrote:

Walt wrote:

Here's the scenario:

Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close
reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down.
Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between
boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough
space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough
space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here?


I don't see that 18.5 has anything to do with this. 18.5 talks about
a "continuing obstruction", which is generally taken to mean
the shoreline, a long dock, a fishing net, or the like.


I beg to differ. I think 18.5 *does* apply here.

Take a look at case 16 from the 2005 casebook.
http://www.sailing.org/rrs2005/casebook2005.pdf

"When a boat clear astern overtakes two overlapping boats
clear ahead, she may intervene between them only if there
is room to pass between them."


Now, in that example the boats are on a run, not on a beat, but I don't
see how that changes anything regarding whether L is an obstruction to M
and W. The case states that L is a continuing obstruction to M and W
and that rule 18.5 applies. M can stick her bow in between L and W
*only* if there is room to pass between them.

What is different between the scenario I present and case 16 is that in
my example the boats are going upwind, and to sail between the boats in
a seamanlike way would require M to trim her sail in, while in case 16
the "seamanlike" thing to do would be to sail with the boom out. The
question is whether W is required to be "seamanlike" and pull her boom
in as well. Certainly Rule 12 would require that, but rule 12 would be
trumped by rule 18.5.

That was the basic argument - M said "Pull in your boom.", W said "No, I
don't have to, there's no room for you in between me and L so you must
keep clear."

Note: Case 29 also has an example of a leward boat being a continuing
obstruction.



//Walt


  #6   Report Post  
posted to rec.boats.racing
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by BoatBanter: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Default Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question

In article ,
Walt wrote:
I beg to differ. I think 18.5 *does* apply here.

Take a look at case 16 from the 2005 casebook.
http://www.sailing.org/rrs2005/casebook2005.pdf


Interesting. I have some reading to do. Thanks!
  #7   Report Post  
posted to rec.boats.racing
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by BoatBanter: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question

Walt wrote:
Here's the scenario:

Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close
reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat
M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W
and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for
M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for
her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here?

IOW, does "room" as cited in 18.5 include only the hulls or is it
"equipment in normal position"? Seems to me it would be the latter, but
I can't find an explicit cite of "equipment in normal position" in the
definition of room

Note: W is not sailing backwards by backing a sail.

For reference, here's 18.5

18.5 Passing a Continuing Obstruction
While boats are passing a continuing obstruction, rules 18.2(b) and
18.2(c) do not apply. A boat clear astern that obtains an inside overlap
is entitled to room to pass between the other boat and the obstruction
only if at the moment the overlap begins there is room to do so. If
there is not, she is not entitled to room and shall keep clear.

Here's the definition of Room: The space a boat needs in the existing
conditions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way.

Thanks.

//Walt


Walt,

Let me amplify on my previous response, which was very similar to Roy's.

There is no question that two boats traveling in parallel over some
distance can constitute a "continuing obstruction" situation. There are
examples shown in the appeals case book and in Dave Perry's book for
boats heading downwind toward a finish line.

In the case you described it seems difficult to have such a "continuing
obstruction". It seems far more likely that the overlap of M on W would
occur long before M would reach the stern of L. This is especially true
if the boats were not close hauled. If M overlapped W well before M
would overlap L then ordinary luffing rights apply between M and W.

This is clearly a judgment call. Did M really stick its nose in between
W and L or was this a simple two-boat encounter between M and W? Was L
traveling in the same direction and speed as W? How long did the
parallel travel between L and W exist? The case book references 6 boat
lengths as clearly satisfying the continuing obstruction case, but there
is no minimum offered.

Regards,
Gene Fuller
  #8   Report Post  
posted to rec.boats.racing
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by BoatBanter: Jul 2006
Posts: 348
Default Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question

Gene Fuller wrote:
Walt wrote:

Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a
close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow
down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in
between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is
enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not
enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to
room here?

There is no question that two boats traveling in parallel over some
distance can constitute a "continuing obstruction" situation. There are
examples shown in the appeals case book and in Dave Perry's book for
boats heading downwind toward a finish line.

In the case you described it seems difficult to have such a "continuing
obstruction". It seems far more likely that the overlap of M on W would
occur long before M would reach the stern of L. This is especially true
if the boats were not close hauled. If M overlapped W well before M
would overlap L then ordinary luffing rights apply between M and W.



Ok. Maybe I didn't provide enough detail. These are dinghys. W and L
were "camped-out" on the starting line, i.e. with about a minute to go
they were about two boat lengths below the starting line and sitting
nearly still - sails flogging while waiting for the start, keeping just
enough way on to have steerage. M was sailing along the line below all
the camped-out boats looking for a gap, and with about 30 seconds to go
tried to squeeze in between W and L. Thus, W and L were overlapped next
to each other for some considerable abount of time, and M was clear
astern of both of them until she sailed in between them. At the moment
when M became overlapped with W there was enough space for M to pass
between the hulls, but not enough space to pass between the end of W's
boom and L's hull.

Did M really stick its nose in between W and L or was this a simple
two-boat encounter between M and W?


M stuck her bow in between M and W. W and L were close enough together
that there was space to pass in betwenn the hulls, but not between the
boom and the bull.


Was L traveling in the same direction and speed as W?


Yes.

How long did the parallel travel between L and W exist?


For about 60 seconds before the gun, and for a few minutes afterward
until W tacked away. I think this pretty clearly meets the criteria of
"continuing".

BTW, I wasn't a participant in this situation, so I really don't have a
dog in this fight. I'm interested in finding out the correct answer,
not some sort of vindication of my position. My *opinion* is that M is
not entitled to room under 18.5, but a contrary opinion is that M is
entitled to room because there's enough space for her to fit between the
hulls. Is it the the distance between the hulls that count, or is it
the hull and boom? Looking for supporting arguments one way or the other...

//Walt
  #9   Report Post  
posted to rec.boats.racing
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by BoatBanter: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question

Walt wrote:

[snip]

BTW, I wasn't a participant in this situation, so I really don't have a
dog in this fight. I'm interested in finding out the correct answer,
not some sort of vindication of my position. My *opinion* is that M is
not entitled to room under 18.5, but a contrary opinion is that M is
entitled to room because there's enough space for her to fit between the
hulls. Is it the the distance between the hulls that count, or is it
the hull and boom? Looking for supporting arguments one way or the
other...

//Walt


Walt,

There are few rules or appeals that specifically mention the hull as
opposed to the complete equipment on a boat. For example, there is no
question that touching a sail constitutes contact, even if the sail is
an out of control spinnaker. Touching a line dragging in the water is
also contact. The only two cases I can think of where an unusual
position of equipment would be questioned are the classic cartoon
showing extreme spinnaker position at the finish line and a deliberate
sudden repositioning of the boom or a sail to block or hit an overtaking
boat. The latter is probably a Rule 2 violation. Sailboat racing isn't
quite NASCAR or Roller Derby yet.

In the situation you described it would appear that the W boat had a
perfectly valid reason to have the boom extended over the side of the
boat. The boom is part of the overall envelope of the W boat. I agree
with your position.

Regards,
Gene Fuller
  #10   Report Post  
posted to rec.boats.racing
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by BoatBanter: Jul 2006
Posts: 348
Default Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question

Gene Fuller wrote:
Walt wrote:


My *opinion* is
that M is not entitled to room under 18.5, but a contrary opinion is
that M is entitled to room because there's enough space for her to fit
between the hulls. Is it the the distance between the hulls that
count, or is it the hull and boom? Looking for supporting arguments
one way or the other...


There are few rules or appeals that specifically mention the hull as
opposed to the complete equipment on a boat. For example, there is no
question that touching a sail constitutes contact, even if the sail is
an out of control spinnaker. Touching a line dragging in the water is
also contact. The only two cases I can think of where an unusual
position of equipment would be questioned are the classic cartoon
showing extreme spinnaker position at the finish line and a deliberate
sudden repositioning of the boom or a sail to block or hit an overtaking
boat.


I think the classic example would be towing a 100' floating line while
on starboard, and pulling it in when on port.

In the situation you described it would appear that the W boat had a
perfectly valid reason to have the boom extended over the side of the
boat. The boom is part of the overall envelope of the W boat. I agree
with your position.


While I agree that W had a valid reason to have her boom out, I don't
think W is *required* to have a valid reason. The fact is that the
hulls were X cm wide and there was less than X cm between W's boom and
L's hull when the overlap obtained. To me that says "no room".

Unless someone can come up with a valid reason why W should be compelled
to set her sail a certain way.

BTW, I've searched through the rules and the casebook for examples of
the notion of "equipment in normal position" and I don't see anything
that applies here. Maybe I'm missing something...

//Walt


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mercury Mark 58,piston question Clams Canino General 1 May 2nd 04 08:58 PM
Obstruction - Start / Finish Line ProjectPro General 23 April 15th 04 08:04 PM
Friday Ethics Question Gary Warner General 67 November 24th 03 01:59 PM
Winterizing question plus. rock_doctor General 3 October 19th 03 02:24 AM
Exhaust question on inboard 1958 Chris Craft Gary Warner General 5 September 25th 03 12:32 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2025 BoatBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Boats"

 

Copyright © 2017