View Single Post
  #9   Report Post  
posted to rec.boats.racing
Gene Fuller Gene Fuller is offline
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by BoatBanter: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question

Walt wrote:

[snip]

BTW, I wasn't a participant in this situation, so I really don't have a
dog in this fight. I'm interested in finding out the correct answer,
not some sort of vindication of my position. My *opinion* is that M is
not entitled to room under 18.5, but a contrary opinion is that M is
entitled to room because there's enough space for her to fit between the
hulls. Is it the the distance between the hulls that count, or is it
the hull and boom? Looking for supporting arguments one way or the
other...

//Walt


Walt,

There are few rules or appeals that specifically mention the hull as
opposed to the complete equipment on a boat. For example, there is no
question that touching a sail constitutes contact, even if the sail is
an out of control spinnaker. Touching a line dragging in the water is
also contact. The only two cases I can think of where an unusual
position of equipment would be questioned are the classic cartoon
showing extreme spinnaker position at the finish line and a deliberate
sudden repositioning of the boom or a sail to block or hit an overtaking
boat. The latter is probably a Rule 2 violation. Sailboat racing isn't
quite NASCAR or Roller Derby yet.

In the situation you described it would appear that the W boat had a
perfectly valid reason to have the boom extended over the side of the
boat. The boom is part of the overall envelope of the W boat. I agree
with your position.

Regards,
Gene Fuller