View Single Post
  #2   Report Post  
posted to rec.boats.racing
Gene Fuller Gene Fuller is offline
external usenet poster
 
First recorded activity by BoatBanter: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question

Walt wrote:
Here's the scenario:

Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close
reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat
M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W
and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for
M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for
her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here?

IOW, does "room" as cited in 18.5 include only the hulls or is it
"equipment in normal position"? Seems to me it would be the latter, but
I can't find an explicit cite of "equipment in normal position" in the
definition of room

Note: W is not sailing backwards by backing a sail.

For reference, here's 18.5

18.5 Passing a Continuing Obstruction
While boats are passing a continuing obstruction, rules 18.2(b) and
18.2(c) do not apply. A boat clear astern that obtains an inside overlap
is entitled to room to pass between the other boat and the obstruction
only if at the moment the overlap begins there is room to do so. If
there is not, she is not entitled to room and shall keep clear.

Here's the definition of Room: The space a boat needs in the existing
conditions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way.

Thanks.

//Walt


Walt,

It is not apparent that Rule 18 applies at all. You did not say anything
about the proximity to starting line marks so it is not clear whether
18.1(a) is in effect. The leeward boat (obstruction) does not have a
required side, so that would also eliminate Rule 18 from consideration.

It seems to me that only Rule 15 is in play in the situation described.
Rule 16 may also apply. In addition, if the starting signal has already
been made, there may be a proper course issue subject to Rule 17.

The middle boat can definitely force the windward boat to head up, as
long as the windward boat is given time and room to do so.

Regards,
Gene Fuller