Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
|
#1
![]()
posted to rec.boats.racing
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
Walt wrote:
Here's the scenario: Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here? IOW, does "room" as cited in 18.5 include only the hulls or is it "equipment in normal position"? Seems to me it would be the latter, but I can't find an explicit cite of "equipment in normal position" in the definition of room Note: W is not sailing backwards by backing a sail. For reference, here's 18.5 18.5 Passing a Continuing Obstruction While boats are passing a continuing obstruction, rules 18.2(b) and 18.2(c) do not apply. A boat clear astern that obtains an inside overlap is entitled to room to pass between the other boat and the obstruction only if at the moment the overlap begins there is room to do so. If there is not, she is not entitled to room and shall keep clear. Here's the definition of Room: The space a boat needs in the existing conditions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way. Thanks. //Walt Walt, It is not apparent that Rule 18 applies at all. You did not say anything about the proximity to starting line marks so it is not clear whether 18.1(a) is in effect. The leeward boat (obstruction) does not have a required side, so that would also eliminate Rule 18 from consideration. It seems to me that only Rule 15 is in play in the situation described. Rule 16 may also apply. In addition, if the starting signal has already been made, there may be a proper course issue subject to Rule 17. The middle boat can definitely force the windward boat to head up, as long as the windward boat is given time and room to do so. Regards, Gene Fuller |
#2
![]()
posted to rec.boats.racing
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
Gene Fuller wrote:
Walt wrote: Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here? It is not apparent that Rule 18 applies at all. You did not say anything about the proximity to starting line marks so it is not clear whether 18.1(a) is in effect. You are right that I didn't say anything about proximity to the starting marks. This happened in the middle of the line far from the starting marks. The only obstructions in the picture are other boats. 18.1 is not in effect. The leeward boat (obstruction) does not have a required side, so that would also eliminate Rule 18 from consideration. Um, no. Rule 18 applies when boats are about to round or pass a mark they are required to leave on the same side, or an obstruction on the same side, until they have passed it. Read that carefully. A *mark* must have a required side for rule 18 to apply, but an obstruction need not have a required side. All that has to happen is for the boats to be passing the obstruction on the same side and rule 18 applies. Boats that you are required to avoid are obstructions. In particular, L is an obstruction to M and W because they must keep clear of L. It's a continuing obstruction because M and W will be sailing along side it for a while. //Walt |
Reply |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Forum | |||
Mercury Mark 58,piston question | General | |||
Obstruction - Start / Finish Line | General | |||
Friday Ethics Question | General | |||
Winterizing question plus. | General | |||
Exhaust question on inboard 1958 Chris Craft | General |