Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
#1
![]()
posted to rec.boats.racing
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
Here's the scenario:
Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here? IOW, does "room" as cited in 18.5 include only the hulls or is it "equipment in normal position"? Seems to me it would be the latter, but I can't find an explicit cite of "equipment in normal position" in the definition of room Note: W is not sailing backwards by backing a sail. For reference, here's 18.5 18.5 Passing a Continuing Obstruction While boats are passing a continuing obstruction, rules 18.2(b) and 18.2(c) do not apply. A boat clear astern that obtains an inside overlap is entitled to room to pass between the other boat and the obstruction only if at the moment the overlap begins there is room to do so. If there is not, she is not entitled to room and shall keep clear. Here's the definition of Room: The space a boat needs in the existing conditions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way. Thanks. //Walt |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Forum | |||
Mercury Mark 58,piston question | General | |||
Obstruction - Start / Finish Line | General | |||
Friday Ethics Question | General | |||
Winterizing question plus. | General | |||
Exhaust question on inboard 1958 Chris Craft | General |