Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
|
#1
![]()
posted to rec.boats.racing
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
Walt wrote:
Here's the scenario: Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here? L doesn't really come into the picture. This is purely a question of M and W. Initially, M is clear astern: 12 ON THE SAME TACK, NOT OVERLAPPED When boats are on the same tack and not overlapped, a boat clear astern shall keep clear of a boat clear ahead. At some point, M becomes overlapped with W. W now has to keep clear of M, but, M is restricted by: 15 ACQUIRING RIGHT OF WAY When a boat acquires right of way, she shall initially give the other boat room to keep clear, unless she acquires right of way because of the other boat's actions. Since there is no proper course before the start (see the definition of Proper Course), 17.1 does not come into play. So, W needs to keep clear of M, but she doesn't need to begin maneuvering to keep clear until the overlap is established, and even then, she only has to maneuver in a seamanlike manner. She's got to trim her boom back inside the sheerline, but only needs to do so hand-over-hand on the sheet; she doesn't need to grab all parts of a multi-part mainsheet system and do a panic trim. She needs to head up to stay clear, but doesn't need to throw the helm hard over. Furthermore, if W's boom was so far out and you stuck your bow so close in that in the course of her normal trimming of the mainsheet the swinging boom hit your forestay, then I'd say you didn't give W sufficient room. Probably not an issue on something like a J/24 with a fairly short boom, but it certainly could be with a longer boom (perhaps even one that overhangs the transom). IOW, does "room" as cited in 18.5 include only the hulls or is it "equipment in normal position"? I don't see that 18.5 has anything to do with this. 18.5 talks about a "continuing obstruction", which is generally taken to mean the shoreline, a long dock, a fishing net, or the like. Where I sail, there's some kind of marine construction project going on, and there's a long line of pilings driven into the bottom near the edge of the bay. They're spaced a couple of boatlengths apart, and the line goes on for 1/4 mile or more; I'd call that a continuing obstruction. A boat to leeward of you does not fit that definition. |
#2
![]()
posted to rec.boats.racing
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
Roy Smith wrote:
Walt wrote: Here's the scenario: Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here? I don't see that 18.5 has anything to do with this. 18.5 talks about a "continuing obstruction", which is generally taken to mean the shoreline, a long dock, a fishing net, or the like. I beg to differ. I think 18.5 *does* apply here. Take a look at case 16 from the 2005 casebook. http://www.sailing.org/rrs2005/casebook2005.pdf "When a boat clear astern overtakes two overlapping boats clear ahead, she may intervene between them only if there is room to pass between them." Now, in that example the boats are on a run, not on a beat, but I don't see how that changes anything regarding whether L is an obstruction to M and W. The case states that L is a continuing obstruction to M and W and that rule 18.5 applies. M can stick her bow in between L and W *only* if there is room to pass between them. What is different between the scenario I present and case 16 is that in my example the boats are going upwind, and to sail between the boats in a seamanlike way would require M to trim her sail in, while in case 16 the "seamanlike" thing to do would be to sail with the boom out. The question is whether W is required to be "seamanlike" and pull her boom in as well. Certainly Rule 12 would require that, but rule 12 would be trumped by rule 18.5. That was the basic argument - M said "Pull in your boom.", W said "No, I don't have to, there's no room for you in between me and L so you must keep clear." Note: Case 29 also has an example of a leward boat being a continuing obstruction. //Walt |
#3
![]()
posted to rec.boats.racing
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
In article ,
Walt wrote: I beg to differ. I think 18.5 *does* apply here. Take a look at case 16 from the 2005 casebook. http://www.sailing.org/rrs2005/casebook2005.pdf Interesting. I have some reading to do. Thanks! |
Reply |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Forum | |||
Mercury Mark 58,piston question | General | |||
Obstruction - Start / Finish Line | General | |||
Friday Ethics Question | General | |||
Winterizing question plus. | General | |||
Exhaust question on inboard 1958 Chris Craft | General |