Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
|
#1
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]() OzOne wrote in message news ![]() On Sat, 29 Jan 2005 21:27:54 -0500, Capt. Neal® scribbled thusly: Please indicate where anything is mentioned about overtaking? Rule 12 (a) When two sailing vessels are approaching one another. . . Does that statement not include overtaking? CN Not when there is another rule to cover overtaking! You need to read and understand ALL the rules Cappy, it's the same old story, And perhaps you need to go sailing once in a while and try following the sailing rules and then you will see you will never even have a chance to use Rule 13. All you need to do to prove me wrong is describe one situation where, if two sailboats are both following the sailing rules, rule 13 would even come into play. You cannot do it and neither can Jeff because the three sailing rules, if followed, cover it all. CN |
#2
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
Capt. Neal® wrote:
OzOne wrote in message news ![]() On Sat, 29 Jan 2005 21:27:54 -0500, Capt. Neal® scribbled thusly: Please indicate where anything is mentioned about overtaking? Rule 12 (a) When two sailing vessels are approaching one another. . . Does that statement not include overtaking? CN Not when there is another rule to cover overtaking! You need to read and understand ALL the rules Cappy, it's the same old story, And perhaps you need to go sailing once in a while and try following the sailing rules and then you will see you will never even have a chance to use Rule 13. All you need to do to prove me wrong is describe one situation where, if two sailboats are both following the sailing rules, rule 13 would even come into play. You cannot do it and neither can Jeff because the three sailing rules, if followed, cover it all. First of all, the issue is not whether Rule 13 is "needed," by some measure; the rule exists and therefore mus be followed. However, I'll give you a case where Rule 12 does not cover two sailboats: Two sailboats A and B are on a beam reach. B is directly behind A and overtaking. Both are on the same tack, neither is windward or leeward or the other. Nothing in Rule 12 covers this situation. In fact, this is the simplest case of where Rule 13 would supersede Rule 12. How could Neal be so stupid as to not see it? |
#3
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
"Jeff Morris" wrote in message
However, I'll give you a case where Rule 12 does not cover two sailboats: Two sailboats A and B are on a beam reach. B is directly behind A and overtaking. Both are on the same tack, neither is windward or leeward or the other. Nothing in Rule 12 covers this situation. In fact, this is the simplest case of where Rule 13 would supersede Rule 12. How could Neal be so stupid as to not see it? How do you define 'overtaking', and in what way is it different from 'gaining on'? If one boat is clear astern of the other, is it overtaking? |
#4
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
Wally wrote:
"Jeff Morris" wrote in message However, I'll give you a case where Rule 12 does not cover two sailboats: Two sailboats A and B are on a beam reach. B is directly behind A and overtaking. Both are on the same tack, neither is windward or leeward or the other. Nothing in Rule 12 covers this situation. In fact, this is the simplest case of where Rule 13 would supersede Rule 12. How could Neal be so stupid as to not see it? How do you define 'overtaking', and in what way is it different from 'gaining on'? If one boat is clear astern of the other, is it overtaking? It doesn't matter how I might define overtaking; the Colregs do a pretty good job of it: 13 (b) A vessel shall be deemed to be overtaking when coming up with another vessel from a direction more than 22.5 degrees abaft her beam, that is, in such a position with reference to the vessel she is overtaking, that at night she would be able to see only the sternlight of that vessel but neither of her sidelights. A curious aspect of the wording is that it uses the stern light as the reference point. Thus, you might claim that once an overlap is established (to use the racing term) then it is no longer an overtaking situation. However, Rule 13(c) says that "when in doubt, you must consider it to be overtaking" and Rule 13(d) says that if a boat approaches from astern, it is an overtaking situation until it is clear ahead: (c) When a vessel is in any doubt as to whether she if overtaking another, she shall assume that this is the case and act accordingly. (d) Any subsequent alteration of the bearing between the two vessels shall not make the overtaking vessel a crossing vessel within the meaning of these Rules or relieve her of the duty of keeping clear of the overtaken vessel until she is finally past and clear. |
#5
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]() "Jeff Morris" wrote in message ... Capt. Neal® wrote: OzOne wrote in message news ![]() On Sat, 29 Jan 2005 21:27:54 -0500, Capt. Neal® scribbled thusly: Please indicate where anything is mentioned about overtaking? Rule 12 (a) When two sailing vessels are approaching one another. . . Does that statement not include overtaking? CN Not when there is another rule to cover overtaking! You need to read and understand ALL the rules Cappy, it's the same old story, And perhaps you need to go sailing once in a while and try following the sailing rules and then you will see you will never even have a chance to use Rule 13. All you need to do to prove me wrong is describe one situation where, if two sailboats are both following the sailing rules, rule 13 would even come into play. You cannot do it and neither can Jeff because the three sailing rules, if followed, cover it all. First of all, the issue is not whether Rule 13 is "needed," by some measure; the rule exists and therefore mus be followed. However, I'll give you a case where Rule 12 does not cover two sailboats: Two sailboats A and B are on a beam reach. B is directly behind A and overtaking. Both are on the same tack, neither is windward or leeward or the other. Nothing in Rule 12 covers this situation. In fact, this is the simplest case of where Rule 13 would supersede Rule 12. How could Neal be so stupid as to not see it? Wrong! By definition, the lead vessel is to weather of the following vessel when both are on a beam reach. Don't you know ANYTHING about sailing? CN |
#6
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]() "Capt. Neal®" wrote in message ... "Jeff Morris" wrote in message ... Capt. Neal® wrote: OzOne wrote in message news ![]() On Sat, 29 Jan 2005 21:27:54 -0500, Capt. Neal® scribbled thusly: Please indicate where anything is mentioned about overtaking? Rule 12 (a) When two sailing vessels are approaching one another. . . Does that statement not include overtaking? CN Not when there is another rule to cover overtaking! You need to read and understand ALL the rules Cappy, it's the same old story, And perhaps you need to go sailing once in a while and try following the sailing rules and then you will see you will never even have a chance to use Rule 13. All you need to do to prove me wrong is describe one situation where, if two sailboats are both following the sailing rules, rule 13 would even come into play. You cannot do it and neither can Jeff because the three sailing rules, if followed, cover it all. First of all, the issue is not whether Rule 13 is "needed," by some measure; the rule exists and therefore mus be followed. However, I'll give you a case where Rule 12 does not cover two sailboats: Two sailboats A and B are on a beam reach. B is directly behind A and overtaking. Both are on the same tack, neither is windward or leeward or the other. Nothing in Rule 12 covers this situation. In fact, this is the simplest case of where Rule 13 would supersede Rule 12. How could Neal be so stupid as to not see it? Wrong! By definition, the lead vessel is to weather of the following vessel when both are on a beam reach. Don't you know ANYTHING about sailing? CN Correction, I spoke in haste. By definition, the following vessel is to weather of the lead vessel when both are on a beam reach. This is because the apparent wind is all the vessels 'see' and the sailing rules do not address apparent wind. They address actual wind. Because two vessels on a beam reach are bringing the wind forward, the wind as seen from a stationery observer would be slightly aft of abeam. This means the following vessel is the windward vessel and according to the sailing rules, this vessel is the give-way vessel. Since he is already the give way vessel Rule 13 is superfluous. CN |
#7
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
"Capt. Neal®" wrote in message
Correction, I spoke in haste. By definition, the following vessel is to weather of the lead vessel when both are on a beam reach. This is because the apparent wind is all the vessels 'see' and the sailing rules do not address apparent wind. They address actual wind. Because two vessels on a beam reach are bringing the wind forward, the wind as seen from a stationery observer would be slightly aft of abeam. This means the following vessel is the windward vessel and according to the sailing rules, this vessel is the give-way vessel. Since he is already the give way vessel Rule 13 is superfluous. What if they're both on a slightly close reach? Ie, such that the apparent wind is forward of the beam but, to a stationary observer, the real wind is precisely on their beams? In this situation, would one or other be the windward boat? |
#8
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]() "Wally" wrote in message k... "Capt. Neal®" wrote in message Correction, I spoke in haste. By definition, the following vessel is to weather of the lead vessel when both are on a beam reach. This is because the apparent wind is all the vessels 'see' and the sailing rules do not address apparent wind. They address actual wind. Because two vessels on a beam reach are bringing the wind forward, the wind as seen from a stationery observer would be slightly aft of abeam. This means the following vessel is the windward vessel and according to the sailing rules, this vessel is the give-way vessel. Since he is already the give way vessel Rule 13 is superfluous. What if they're both on a slightly close reach? Ie, such that the apparent wind is forward of the beam but, to a stationary observer, the real wind is precisely on their beams? In this situation, would one or other be the windward boat? In the situation you describe the lead boat would be to weather because he's in the lead. CN |
#9
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]() Wally wrote in message k... "Capt. Neal®" wrote in message Correction, I spoke in haste. By definition, the following vessel is to weather of the lead vessel when both are on a beam reach. This is because the apparent wind is all the vessels 'see' and the sailing rules do not address apparent wind. They address actual wind. Because two vessels on a beam reach are bringing the wind forward, the wind as seen from a stationery observer would be slightly aft of abeam. This means the following vessel is the windward vessel and according to the sailing rules, this vessel is the give-way vessel. Since he is already the give way vessel Rule 13 is superfluous. What if they're both on a slightly close reach? Ie, such that the apparent wind is forward of the beam but, to a stationary observer, the real wind is precisely on their beams? In this situation, would one or other be the windward boat? Wally, please learn to leave the bait alone. FYI there are no 'stationary observers' out at sea and moreover since one of the boats is by definition faster than the other their apparent wind directions will differ anyway. It is not really all that complicated. If you are overtaking another boat you have to keep clear until you are 'clear ahead'. |
#10
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
Capt. Neal® wrote:
However, I'll give you a case where Rule 12 does not cover two sailboats: Two sailboats A and B are on a beam reach. B is directly behind A and overtaking. Both are on the same tack, neither is windward or leeward or the other. Nothing in Rule 12 covers this situation. In fact, this is the simplest case of where Rule 13 would supersede Rule 12. How could Neal be so stupid as to not see it? Wrong! By definition, the lead vessel is to weather of the following vessel when both are on a beam reach. Don't you know ANYTHING about sailing? CN Correction, I spoke in haste. By definition, the following vessel is to weather of the lead vessel when both are on a beam reach. So which is it Neal? You're making a real fool of yourself here! I can see the smoke coming out of your ears, just like an overloaded android on Star Trek! This is because the apparent wind is all the vessels 'see' and the sailing rules do not address apparent wind. They address actual wind. Because two vessels on a beam reach are bringing the wind forward, the wind as seen from a stationery observer would be slightly aft of abeam. This means the following vessel is the windward vessel and according to the sailing rules, this vessel is the give-way vessel. Since he is already the give way vessel Rule 13 is superfluous. So you're saying that windward/leeward depends on the exact direction of the wind? That must mean that there is a point exactly in the middle neither is windward or leeward. Which applies then? |
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|