Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
#11
![]()
posted to rec.boats.racing
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
Walt wrote:
My *opinion* is that M is not entitled to room under 18.5, but a contrary opinion is that M is entitled to room because there's enough space for her to fit between the hulls. Is it the the distance between the hulls that count, or is it the hull and boom? Looking for supporting arguments one way or the other... Personally, I would not want to go in front of a protest committee and argue the claim that "room" meant the physical constraint of space between hulls. Is beam plus 1 inch "room?" It's also possible that once the boat in middle puts her nose in, the windward boat could not trim in her boom without clipping th eboat in the middle's forestay since it swings aft as it swings in. Oops! Gene Fuller wrote: There are few rules or appeals that specifically mention the hull as opposed to the complete equipment on a boat. For example, there is no question that touching a sail constitutes contact, even if the sail is an out of control spinnaker. Touching a line dragging in the water is also contact. The only two cases I can think of where an unusual position of equipment would be questioned are the classic cartoon showing extreme spinnaker position at the finish line and a deliberate sudden repositioning of the boom or a sail to block or hit an overtaking boat. Such as leaving the sprit out on a sportboat while sailing to windward? Or the case of Il Moro during one of the San Diego America's Cup, who gybed just before crossing the line so as to let their spinnaker blow out further in front... the judges called it by the relative positions of the stemhead, anyway (a call I disagreed with). I think the classic example would be towing a 100' floating line while on starboard, and pulling it in when on port. In the situation you described it would appear that the W boat had a perfectly valid reason to have the boom extended over the side of the boat. The boom is part of the overall envelope of the W boat. I agree with your position. Walt wrote: While I agree that W had a valid reason to have her boom out, I don't think W is *required* to have a valid reason. The fact is that the hulls were X cm wide and there was less than X cm between W's boom and L's hull when the overlap obtained. To me that says "no room". I also agree but there is no telling what a protest committe will decide. Unless someone can come up with a valid reason why W should be compelled to set her sail a certain way. BTW, I've searched through the rules and the casebook for examples of the notion of "equipment in normal position" and I don't see anything that applies here. Maybe I'm missing something... Is there a defined "normal position" for gear when maneuvering to start? There is no definite course or point of sail. Fresh Breezes- Doug King |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Forum | |||
Mercury Mark 58,piston question | General | |||
Obstruction - Start / Finish Line | General | |||
Friday Ethics Question | General | |||
Winterizing question plus. | General | |||
Exhaust question on inboard 1958 Chris Craft | General |