Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
#4
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
Edward Fryer wrote:
"Walt" wrote in message ... Reading over the rules I'm puzzled by something: The preamble to rule 18 says that the inside boat is entitled to room to tack if it's a normal part of the manoeuver, but 18.1b says that rule 18 is inapplicable when the proper course of either boat is to tack. (actual text quoted below) So when is tacking a normal manoeuver that would be covered by rule 18? Can anybody cite a situation where rule 18 applies and tacking is a normal part of the manoeuvere? Otherwise, it seems that the provision in the preamble is never relevant. Or am I missing something? Preamble to rule 18 In rule 18, room is room for an inside boat to round or pass between an outside boat and a mark or obstruction, including room to tack or gybe when either is a normal part of the manoeuvre. Rule 18.1 (b) says that rule 18 doesn't apply between boats on opposite tacks, either on a beat to windward or when the proper course for one or both of them to round or pass the mark or obstruction is to tack. The thing to remember is that 18.1b applies to boats on opposite tacks. When both boats are on the same tack, the preamble indicates that the inside boat has a right to room to tack if that is part of the course: e.g, on a round the bouys race, reaching towards a mark, tacking round and then setting off upwind. -Ed And here is an illustration that might help also: http://makeashorterlink.com/?T2C7416D5 (ISAF Q&A 107) |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Forum | |||
FS: CAL 35 Mark II in FL | Marketplace | |||
Mercury Mark 58,piston question | General | |||
FS: Catalina 22 Mark II | General | |||
Timing on Mercury Mark 58A [for a friend] | General |