Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
#7
![]()
posted to rec.boats.cruising
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
On Oct 15, 10:02*am, "Capt. JG" wrote:
.... Apparently, according to what I read, the 40' boat tacked just prior to the collision. Therefore, the starboard rule wasn't in effect. Read the logs..... There is a statement here by Tom Perkins: http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=107835 and more photos he http://lyonsimaging.smugmug.com/gall...86640001_ojnQx Perkins does not claim that the "Stan By" tacked. His claim is that MF was to weather and on port and SB was on stb and to leeward. MF turned PORT to give more room. He then says that SB rounded up and hit them. He says that SB's main was sheeted hard in which is apparently not true. For all of the pictures where SB is in frame the sails are luffing. It is hard to tell because of the telephoto lens but if there really was 200 plus feet between SB and MF it seems unlikely that SB with her sails luffing could have covered that ground and hit hard enough to do the damage we see. It is clear that with in two minutes before the the first picture with SB in frame MF made a major alteration to port. It is reported that SB's crew claims that MF turned in front of them. That seems consistent with the photographs. The wake of SB in so far as I can tell looks straight and diminishing as the series progresses. --Tom. |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Forum | |||
20 bucks for a faded duck | ASA | |||
Do you hear them..? BOOM BOOM BOOM! The drums of war grow louder. | ASA | |||
Anyone got a spare few bucks | ASA | |||
Can ya hear the BOOM BOOM BOOM of celebrations in Bagdad | ASA |