Hmmm... I don't see his comments via that link.
wrote in message
...
On Oct 15, 10:02 am, "Capt. JG" wrote:
....
Apparently, according to what I read, the 40' boat tacked just prior to
the
collision. Therefore, the starboard rule wasn't in effect. Read the
logs....
There is a statement here by Tom Perkins:
http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=107835
and more photos he
http://lyonsimaging.smugmug.com/gall...86640001_ojnQx
Perkins does not claim that the "Stan By" tacked. His claim is that
MF was to weather and on port and SB was on stb and to leeward. MF
turned PORT to give more room. He then says that SB rounded up and
hit them. He says that SB's main was sheeted hard in which is
apparently not true.
For all of the pictures where SB is in frame the sails are luffing.
It is hard to tell because of the telephoto lens but if there really
was 200 plus feet between SB and MF it seems unlikely that SB with her
sails luffing could have covered that ground and hit hard enough to do
the damage we see.
It is clear that with in two minutes before the the first picture with
SB in frame MF made a major alteration to port. It is reported that
SB's crew claims that MF turned in front of them. That seems
consistent with the photographs. The wake of SB in so far as I can
tell looks straight and diminishing as the series progresses.
--Tom.
--
"j" ganz @@
www.sailnow.com