LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17   Report Post  
Wally
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Jeff Morris" wrote in message

However, I'll give you a case where Rule 12 does not cover two
sailboats: Two sailboats A and B are on a beam reach. B is directly
behind A and overtaking. Both are on the same tack, neither is windward
or leeward or the other. Nothing in Rule 12 covers this situation. In
fact, this is the simplest case of where Rule 13 would supersede Rule
12. How could Neal be so stupid as to not see it?


How do you define 'overtaking', and in what way is it different from
'gaining on'? If one boat is clear astern of the other, is it overtaking?




 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
American Sailing Association frequently asked questions Paul R. Fortin ASA 0 March 13th 04 09:35 AM
American Sailing Association frequently asked questions Paul R. Fortin ASA 0 February 14th 04 08:56 AM
American Sailing Association frequently asked questions Paul R. Fortin ASA 0 January 16th 04 09:20 AM
American Sailing Association frequently asked questions Paul R. Fortin ASA 0 December 16th 03 12:00 PM
American Sailing Association frequently asked questions Paul R. Fortin ASA 0 December 2nd 03 11:08 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2025 BoatBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Boats"

 

Copyright © 2017