LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8   Report Post  
J Peters
 
Posts: n/a
Default rules question at start, pinned under a boat to windward


"John Allan" wrote in message
news:MPG.1b3950b24512d91e989685@news...
In article ,
says...
John Allan wrote:
says...
John Allan wrote:


Now it's hard for me to pin down the situation exactly from your
description (whether that is my fault or yours I don't know) but

it
sounds as if A (to windward) has let themselves get into a really

bad
situation. I think if I was B, I'd tap A's transom,

Ahh, the famous "love tap": went out in 1995 I believe.

If you tap A with anything you will probably infringe RRS 14 at

least.

14(b) says I won't get penalised for a "tap".

I disagree. The stem of RRS 14 requires B (or any other boat) to

avoid
contact if reasonably possible: B alters course so as to cause

contact,
then I don't think one even gets to look at subparagraph (b).


I think we might all be approaching furious agreement here.

Andy's right that you won't get penalized under 14 for a tap that does
no damage. But that's not the point - the "love tap" is out because of
rule 16: "16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give
the other boat room to keep clear." My take is that a deliberate tap
would break rule 16.


Yup, and if Andy "gives" A a tap then I'm inclined to think that he had
to alter course to do it: Andy's not such a fool as to reach out his
hand and go "tap" (although I was in a CQ on Sunday and I saw the little
hands coming out under the guardrails and I thought, come on guys, foul
me,... please ...).

So Andy, on B plays possum yelling furiously to A in the hope that A will
go up and kick B with the transom: what then: B, of course, will swear
blind that he altered course (0.01 degrees) away from A to avoid contact,
and, as Andy has said, under RRS 14(b), as the right of way boat is not
to be penalised (under RRS 14 at any rate). I reckon that A will also
claim exoneration under RRS 14, saying that A was entitled to room from B
because B acquired right of way and under RRS 15 failed initially to give
room.

But you're free to take your chances in the
protest room if you're so inclined.


Has B hailed C and D under RRS 18 for room to pass the obstruction (A
unable to respond to B's luff) yet?

As for the original question it's a little too vague to really tell
what's what.


Dunno, the only thing I think is not stated in the scenario was whether B
has overtaken A close to leeward, thus clearly failing to "initially"
give A room under RRS 15, or whether , somehow or other, B has
"initially" given A room.

John


Let me try and clarify a little bit.

A and B are sailing down the line towards the pin, a couple of boatlengths
below the line. It is fairly light air so nothing is happening very quickly
although
there is enough air that boats keep moving, etc...

B overtakes A and gets her bow to leeward of A's transom. There is no
chance of B tapping A from behind although B could head up and hit A. They
are overlapped by a foot or so, and close enough laterally so that A cannot
head up nor can B. They sail like this for some time, 30 seconds, so I
think
the "initially" time has past.

At this point other boats to leeward on close hauled courses want to get
"through B" to get to the line. B tells them she can't alter course due to
A's
presence but does not hail A to come up because she knows that A can't
alter course without hitting her.

My question is whether B has any obligation (with respect to the boats
to leeward) to give A room to manouver as it is her position that turns A
into an obstruction. If B bears off then A will have enough room to turn up
after which B can turn up and give room to the boats to leeward.



 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fiberglass vs plastic bb General 74 March 15th 11 07:53 PM
rec.boats.paddle sea kayaking FAQ [email protected] General 0 June 28th 04 07:43 PM
rec.boats.paddle sea kayaking FAQ [email protected] General 0 April 17th 04 12:28 PM
rec.boats.paddle sea kayaking FAQ [email protected] General 0 March 18th 04 09:15 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2025 BoatBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Boats"

 

Copyright © 2017