Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
#6
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
John Allan wrote:
says... John Allan wrote: Now it's hard for me to pin down the situation exactly from your description (whether that is my fault or yours I don't know) but it sounds as if A (to windward) has let themselves get into a really bad situation. I think if I was B, I'd tap A's transom, Ahh, the famous "love tap": went out in 1995 I believe. If you tap A with anything you will probably infringe RRS 14 at least. 14(b) says I won't get penalised for a "tap". I disagree. The stem of RRS 14 requires B (or any other boat) to avoid contact if reasonably possible: B alters course so as to cause contact, then I don't think one even gets to look at subparagraph (b). Andy's right that you won't get penalized under 14 for a tap that does no damage. But that's not the point - the "love tap" is out because of rule 16: "16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear." My take is that a deliberate tap would break rule 16. But you're free to take your chances in the protest room if you're so inclined. As for the original question it's a little too vague to really tell what's what. -- //-Walt // // |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Forum | |||
Fiberglass vs plastic | General | |||
rec.boats.paddle sea kayaking FAQ | General | |||
rec.boats.paddle sea kayaking FAQ | General | |||
rec.boats.paddle sea kayaking FAQ | General |