| Home |
| Search |
| Today's Posts |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi Jim,
There are several different issues in this topic. The string rule is irrelevant. The start/finish line marks do not begin or end the leg in question, and they do not have a required side. Therefore they are not "marks" according to the definition. The string rule does not prohibit multiple roundings of a required mark, and it says nothing at all about objects that are not marks. The prohibited area is clearly an "obstruction" if the prohibition is properly written into the sailing instructions. Typically this sort of sailing instruction would be used to prevent potentially dangerous shortcuts, avoiding commercial traffic, and so on. If written carefully, with particular attention to the definition of the exact prohibited area and the time in which the prohibition is in effect, it should be possible to use this approach. The prohibited start/finish line, or closed gate as it is sometimes called, is full of problems. It potentially makes life easier for the RC, but it creates strategic headaches for the competitors. It is not allowable for the RC to simply toss a violator unless the rules are modified. Rule A5 requires a protest hearing to "worsen a boat's score" for all but a couple of specific reasons. The rule modification is possible, but it requires adjustments to at least rules A5, A4.1, 63.1, and 28.1. It does not make a lot of sense to have a prohibited area that can be violated and then "un-violated" as you seem to indicate. If the area is prohibited for good reason, then protest and toss the perps. If the transgression can somehow be undone by unwinding the course, then it would not appear that the prohibited area made much sense in the first place. The rules are generally unforgiving with regard to "innocent mistakes". Been there, done that, got burned, learned, etc. Regards, Gene Fuller ProjectPro wrote: Our club prohibits crossing the start / finish line except to start or finish. The entire area, including nearby extensions of the start / finish line, are navigable. Our sailing instructions do not modify RRS 28.1 (the "string" rule) in this regard, so "unwinding" is permitted. A handful of sailors had a lively discussion over beer one night regarding whether the prohibited start / finish line ranks as an obstruction. It is clearly not a mark - boats can (and do) leave this area to either side depending on individual polars or tactical circumstances. The RRS definitions state that an obstruction is "an object that a boat could not pass...", but the line is not an object. Further, the definitions state that "...an area so designated by the sailing instructions (is) also (an) obstruction...". Does the prohibition of crossing the line in the sailing instructions make the "area so designated by the sailing instructions" an obstruction, or would the SIs have to specifically state that the line ranks as an obstruction? Thanks, Jim Williams Willoughby Racers Norfolk, VA |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Forum | |||
| Birthdate of Norman Maclean | General | |||
| Where to find ramp stories? | General | |||
| How to use a simple SWR meter and what it means to your VHF | Electronics | |||
| More on Reflected power on antenna feed lines | Electronics | |||
| RRS 88.3 (b) & Restricted Line DSQ v DNE | General | |||