Obstruction - Start / Finish Line
Our club prohibits crossing the start / finish line except to start or
finish. The entire area, including nearby extensions of the start /
finish line, are navigable. Our sailing instructions do not modify
RRS 28.1 (the "string" rule) in this regard, so "unwinding" is
permitted.
A handful of sailors had a lively discussion over beer one night
regarding whether the prohibited start / finish line ranks as an
obstruction. It is clearly not a mark - boats can (and do) leave this
area to either side depending on individual polars or tactical
circumstances.
The RRS definitions state that an obstruction is "an object that a
boat could not pass...", but the line is not an object. Further, the
definitions state that "...an area so designated by the sailing
instructions (is) also (an) obstruction...".
Does the prohibition of crossing the line in the sailing instructions
make the "area so designated by the sailing instructions" an
obstruction, or would the SIs have to specifically state that the line
ranks as an obstruction?
Thanks,
Jim Williams
Willoughby Racers
Norfolk, VA
|