| Home |
| Search |
| Today's Posts |
|
|
|
#1
posted to rec.boats.cruising
|
|||
|
|||
|
"Don White" wrote in message
... "Roger Long" wrote in message ... Or someone who take Right of Way way, way, too seriously. I can't believe he didn't see a vessel that big and interesting. It seems far more likely that he was trying for a close pass ahead and misjudged the speed or a stern buzz and didn't anticipate the huge airflow disruption a vessel of this size would create. It looks like he was trying to tack just before contact. Looks like a hot dogging stunt gone bad. -- Roger Long It appears the smaller sailboat was the 'stand on' vessel (starboard tack) and the larger the 'give way vessel' (port tack). It will be interesting who is found at fault here. Apparently, according to what I read, the 40' boat tacked just prior to the collision. Therefore, the starboard rule wasn't in effect. Read the logs. Too bad about it. Apparently, the boat was owned by Dawn Riley, but someone borrowed the boat, and she wasn't aboard. From the photographer: Okay... reviewing my own pics, the smaller vessel did not round up. They tacked. I wasn't really paying attention to them much; l I knew they were there, they were close but all was well, then the all of a sudden here they come. It looked at first like they would be hit by MF, not the other way around. That would have made their day far worse. I couldn't believe what I was seeing. I just grabbed a camera and started shooting. The smaller boat was on a starboard tack and MF was on port at the time of impact. I guess those dudes on the smaller boat just didn't see it. I really have no idea how else they could have put themselves there. The smaller boat did not put down sails after the accident, either. They fled. First toward the Bay Bridge, then towards Richmond. It was 20 minutes before the Falcon caught up with the other vessel. They gave five blasts. The smaller boat held course under full sail still. That's when the CG arrived and told the other boat to take her sails down. They took it from there. -- "j" ganz @@ www.sailnow.com |
|
#2
posted to rec.boats.cruising
|
|||
|
|||
|
On Oct 15, 10:02*am, "Capt. JG" wrote:
.... Apparently, according to what I read, the 40' boat tacked just prior to the collision. Therefore, the starboard rule wasn't in effect. Read the logs..... There is a statement here by Tom Perkins: http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=107835 and more photos he http://lyonsimaging.smugmug.com/gall...86640001_ojnQx Perkins does not claim that the "Stan By" tacked. His claim is that MF was to weather and on port and SB was on stb and to leeward. MF turned PORT to give more room. He then says that SB rounded up and hit them. He says that SB's main was sheeted hard in which is apparently not true. For all of the pictures where SB is in frame the sails are luffing. It is hard to tell because of the telephoto lens but if there really was 200 plus feet between SB and MF it seems unlikely that SB with her sails luffing could have covered that ground and hit hard enough to do the damage we see. It is clear that with in two minutes before the the first picture with SB in frame MF made a major alteration to port. It is reported that SB's crew claims that MF turned in front of them. That seems consistent with the photographs. The wake of SB in so far as I can tell looks straight and diminishing as the series progresses. --Tom. |
|
#3
posted to rec.boats.cruising
|
|||
|
|||
|
Query: if a 290' vessel is 200' to weather of another vessel and it
turns hard to port will it "close the gate" on the leeward vessel by swinging its stern to stb? --Tom. |
|
#4
posted to rec.boats.cruising
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hmmm... I don't see his comments via that link.
wrote in message ... On Oct 15, 10:02 am, "Capt. JG" wrote: .... Apparently, according to what I read, the 40' boat tacked just prior to the collision. Therefore, the starboard rule wasn't in effect. Read the logs.... There is a statement here by Tom Perkins: http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=107835 and more photos he http://lyonsimaging.smugmug.com/gall...86640001_ojnQx Perkins does not claim that the "Stan By" tacked. His claim is that MF was to weather and on port and SB was on stb and to leeward. MF turned PORT to give more room. He then says that SB rounded up and hit them. He says that SB's main was sheeted hard in which is apparently not true. For all of the pictures where SB is in frame the sails are luffing. It is hard to tell because of the telephoto lens but if there really was 200 plus feet between SB and MF it seems unlikely that SB with her sails luffing could have covered that ground and hit hard enough to do the damage we see. It is clear that with in two minutes before the the first picture with SB in frame MF made a major alteration to port. It is reported that SB's crew claims that MF turned in front of them. That seems consistent with the photographs. The wake of SB in so far as I can tell looks straight and diminishing as the series progresses. --Tom. -- "j" ganz @@ www.sailnow.com |
|
#5
posted to rec.boats.cruising
|
|||
|
|||
|
On Oct 15, 12:01*pm, "Capt. JG" wrote:
Hmmm... I don't see his comments via that link. Sorry, bad cut and paste. Try: http://yachtpals.com/maltese-falcon-...collision-3074 --Tom. |
|
#6
posted to rec.boats.cruising
|
|||
|
|||
|
Oh, I like this! Quoting the man who wrote a book titled "Mine's bigger
than yours.", ""right-of-way" doesn't apply when one of the vessels is restricted by sheer size." That's not in any rules I ever read. If MF was in a channel and unable to change course then he would have a defense. OTOH, if the smaller vessel tacked into a right of way position before MF could reasonably respond, which is somewhat a size issue, than she was not actually the stand on vessel. I hope those of you on the west coast will keep us updated on this. -- Roger Long |
|
#7
posted to rec.boats.cruising
|
|||
|
|||
|
Roger Long wrote:
Oh, I like this! Quoting the man who wrote a book titled "Mine's bigger than yours.", ""right-of-way" doesn't apply when one of the vessels is restricted by sheer size." That's not in any rules I ever read. If MF was in a channel and unable to change course then he would have a defense. OTOH, if the smaller vessel tacked into a right of way position before MF could reasonably respond, which is somewhat a size issue, than she was not actually the stand on vessel. I hope those of you on the west coast will keep us updated on this. Based on the fact that the MF is a square rigged boat, it appears that based on the set of the sails the wind is coming from the rear on the port beam or about 220 to 230 degrees from the bow. In the pictures it looks like the smaller boat is tacking into the wind on a tight reach. If so from a simple boat to boat rules the smaller boat has the right of way. Thing change when considering the size, channel, etc. Is my wind analysis wrong? |
|
#8
posted to rec.boats.cruising
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hard to say. Looking at the sails of both boats I think MF was close
reaching but not necessarily close hauled. If her sails were square to the wind, the smaller boats sails would be aback. I'd like to be able to stop the animation though to be sure. -- Roger Long |
|
#9
posted to rec.boats.cruising
|
|||
|
|||
|
On Oct 15, 2:45*pm, Keith nuttle wrote:
.... Based on the fact that the MF is a square rigged boat, it appears that based on the set of the sails the wind is coming from the rear on the port beam or about 220 to 230 degrees from the bow. *In the pictures it looks like the smaller boat is tacking into the wind on a tight reach. I think MF is a little different than your "typical" square rigged boat because the yards are bent and the sails are set to develop lift. For our needs I think it is close enough to say that the weather end of the each yard is pointing into the apparent wind. The foremast will be in clear air and the apparent wind will be like that of a sloop sailing at similar speeds. The main and mizzen will be progressively headed and so will be trimmed closer than they would be on a sloop. The wind was westerly. On this frame: http://lyonsimaging.smugmug.com/gall...86639934_y45aP MF was heading roughly North and in the next frame was heading more or less NW I think. In the first frame she was reaching and in the second about as close as she is likely able to get to beating to my eye. The frames are at at about 3 second intervals. If so from a simple boat to boat rules the smaller boat has the right of * way. *Thing change when considering the size, channel, etc. Yes. MF is on port SB is on stb. Rule 12 a(i) makes MF the give way vessel and SB stand on. But, of course, everyone must avoid collisions per Rule 8. Is my wind analysis wrong? Seems close enough to me. --Tom. |
|
#10
posted to rec.boats.cruising
|
|||
|
|||
|
On Oct 15, 2:09*pm, "Roger Long" wrote:
...OTOH, if the smaller vessel tacked into a right of way position before MF could reasonably respond, which is somewhat a size issue, than she was not actually the stand on vessel.... AFIK, "Stand By" didn't tack. The photos show her on stb for the entire collision. I'm guessing that some of the folks who said she tacked saw her spin after she made contact -- and perhaps because the sound was delayed thought she spun before the collision. I also don't think MF is claiming rule 9 rights so it is a little theoretical, but do folks think that 9(b) means that a sailing vessel can't have rule 9 rights at all or that a sailing vessel that can only navigate in a narrow channel has rights but still gives way to non- sailing vessels? --Tom. |
| Reply |
|
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Forum | |||
| 20 bucks for a faded duck | ASA | |||
| Do you hear them..? BOOM BOOM BOOM! The drums of war grow louder. | ASA | |||
| Anyone got a spare few bucks | ASA | |||
| Can ya hear the BOOM BOOM BOOM of celebrations in Bagdad | ASA | |||