Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
#17
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]() "Capt. Neal®" wrote in message ... "Jeff Morris" wrote in message ... Capt. Neal® wrote: OzOne wrote in message news ![]() On Sat, 29 Jan 2005 21:27:54 -0500, Capt. Neal® scribbled thusly: Please indicate where anything is mentioned about overtaking? Rule 12 (a) When two sailing vessels are approaching one another. . . Does that statement not include overtaking? CN Not when there is another rule to cover overtaking! You need to read and understand ALL the rules Cappy, it's the same old story, And perhaps you need to go sailing once in a while and try following the sailing rules and then you will see you will never even have a chance to use Rule 13. All you need to do to prove me wrong is describe one situation where, if two sailboats are both following the sailing rules, rule 13 would even come into play. You cannot do it and neither can Jeff because the three sailing rules, if followed, cover it all. First of all, the issue is not whether Rule 13 is "needed," by some measure; the rule exists and therefore mus be followed. However, I'll give you a case where Rule 12 does not cover two sailboats: Two sailboats A and B are on a beam reach. B is directly behind A and overtaking. Both are on the same tack, neither is windward or leeward or the other. Nothing in Rule 12 covers this situation. In fact, this is the simplest case of where Rule 13 would supersede Rule 12. How could Neal be so stupid as to not see it? Wrong! By definition, the lead vessel is to weather of the following vessel when both are on a beam reach. Don't you know ANYTHING about sailing? CN Correction, I spoke in haste. By definition, the following vessel is to weather of the lead vessel when both are on a beam reach. This is because the apparent wind is all the vessels 'see' and the sailing rules do not address apparent wind. They address actual wind. Because two vessels on a beam reach are bringing the wind forward, the wind as seen from a stationery observer would be slightly aft of abeam. This means the following vessel is the windward vessel and according to the sailing rules, this vessel is the give-way vessel. Since he is already the give way vessel Rule 13 is superfluous. CN |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|