View Single Post
  #5   Report Post  
Walt
 
Posts: n/a
Default rules question at start, pinned under a boat to windward

John Allan wrote:
says...
John Allan wrote:


Now it's hard for me to pin down the situation exactly from your
description (whether that is my fault or yours I don't know) but it
sounds as if A (to windward) has let themselves get into a really bad
situation. I think if I was B, I'd tap A's transom,

Ahh, the famous "love tap": went out in 1995 I believe.

If you tap A with anything you will probably infringe RRS 14 at least.


14(b) says I won't get penalised for a "tap".


I disagree. The stem of RRS 14 requires B (or any other boat) to avoid
contact if reasonably possible: B alters course so as to cause contact,
then I don't think one even gets to look at subparagraph (b).


Andy's right that you won't get penalized under 14 for a tap that does
no damage. But that's not the point - the "love tap" is out because of
rule 16: "16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give
the other boat room to keep clear." My take is that a deliberate tap
would break rule 16. But you're free to take your chances in the
protest room if you're so inclined.

As for the original question it's a little too vague to really tell
what's what.

--
//-Walt
//
//