Obstruction - Start / Finish Line
On Wed, 14 Apr 2004 02:19:24 UTC, Gene Fuller
wrote:
Geoff,
The current definition of "finish" does not require "sailing the
course". There is no connection to the string rule.
The only option allowed to a Race Committee if a boat does not sail the
course correctly is to protest the infringing boat. Automagical DNF
penalties are not allowed.
Sorry if I was unclear. There is a penalty available if a boat does
not sail the course. That penalty can only be applied on protest.
The point is that there is a penalty structure if the closed line is
bounded by marks. That is not so clear if it is an obstruction.
Unfortunately, as I have pointed out here before, many useful concepts
were tossed out when the rules were screwed up.
Geoff
|