Obstruction - Start / Finish Line
Geoff,
The current definition of "finish" does not require "sailing the
course". There is no connection to the string rule.
The only option allowed to a Race Committee if a boat does not sail the
course correctly is to protest the infringing boat. Automagical DNF
penalties are not allowed. If a boat crosses the finish line from the
direction of the last mark it has finished, subject only to the
technicalities spelled out in the definition. Note that the boat does
not need to round the last mark; it only needs to cross the finish line
from the direction of the last mark.
I won't argue whether this is right or wrong, but it is the current
rule. See ISAF Case 45 for further reinforcement that the definition of
finish cannot be changed.
Regards,
Gene Fuller
R. G. Newbury wrote:
[big snip]
If you feel you *have to*, then making them marks, and defining the
course to proscribe passing between them automagically provides the
penalty....DNF for not sailing the course!
There were USYRU and IYRU cases about 'required sides' etc. and the
'string rule' which discussed this... Long since lost in the mists of
history unfortunately.
Now with starting boxes, as an example, regattas spell that out very
clearly. If you are in your start, you stay in the box or this may happen.
If it is not your start and you offend, then this may happen.
Exactly.
Geoff
|