Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
|
#1
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
Geoff,
The current definition of "finish" does not require "sailing the course". There is no connection to the string rule. The only option allowed to a Race Committee if a boat does not sail the course correctly is to protest the infringing boat. Automagical DNF penalties are not allowed. If a boat crosses the finish line from the direction of the last mark it has finished, subject only to the technicalities spelled out in the definition. Note that the boat does not need to round the last mark; it only needs to cross the finish line from the direction of the last mark. I won't argue whether this is right or wrong, but it is the current rule. See ISAF Case 45 for further reinforcement that the definition of finish cannot be changed. Regards, Gene Fuller R. G. Newbury wrote: [big snip] If you feel you *have to*, then making them marks, and defining the course to proscribe passing between them automagically provides the penalty....DNF for not sailing the course! There were USYRU and IYRU cases about 'required sides' etc. and the 'string rule' which discussed this... Long since lost in the mists of history unfortunately. Now with starting boxes, as an example, regattas spell that out very clearly. If you are in your start, you stay in the box or this may happen. If it is not your start and you offend, then this may happen. Exactly. Geoff |
#2
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
"Gene Fuller" wrote in message
Geoff, The current definition of "finish" does not require "sailing the course". There is no connection to the string rule. MMMMMM, I understand: If the finish line is in the middle of the race course, a boat can "finish" numerous times as she passes through the finish line from the direction of the last mark, on various legs or laps. But a boat can only sail the course under RRS 28.1 once. I think this is a somewhat tortured construction, and I think it would be correct to imply into the definitition of _finish_ words to the effect of "after properly rounding the last mark". Otherwise, or as well, there should be implied or expressly written into RRS A4.2, immediately before the word _finish_, the words "sail the course in accordance with rule 28.1 and". The only option allowed to a Race Committee if a boat does not sail the course correctly is to protest the infringing boat. Automagical DNF penalties are not allowed. Do you have an Appeals Case for this. I don't think Case 45 gets quite there. If a boat crosses the finish line from the direction of the last mark it has finished, subject only to the technicalities spelled out in the definition. Note that the boat does not need to round the last mark; it only needs to cross the finish line from the direction of the last mark. I disagree: although a 'black-letter' construction of the definition of "finish" indicates this, such an interpretation leads to the absurdity I described above, that a boat can "finish" numerous times in the same race. The canons of construction allow for interpretation or implication to remove absurdities. As I indicated, it think it is quite proper and right to imply "after properly rounding the last mark" into the definition of _finish_. I won't argue whether this is right or wrong, but it is the current rule. See ISAF Case 45 for further reinforcement that the definition of finish cannot be changed. snip John |
#3
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
On Wed, 14 Apr 2004 12:32:10 UTC, "J. Allan"
wrote: "Gene Fuller" wrote in message Geoff, The current definition of "finish" does not require "sailing the course". There is no connection to the string rule. Of course there is a connection to the string rule. The definition of 'finish' requires that finishing be 'from the last mark'. The last mark must be 'touched' by the string. Note that if the line is closed by making the ends marks, those marks are NOT rounding marks, and the string need not touch them. In fact, it would touch one of them but not the other, if both are to be left on the same side. As to multiple 'finishes': that does not happen, since it is only a finish when it happens '...from the last mark...' The others are just...laps? Geoff |
#4
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
"R. G. Newbury" wrote in message
news:JcldVHe8EppF-pn2-Z0L2R9dSyv5O@Tor2 snip The definition of 'finish' requires that finishing be 'from the last mark'. I think you're misquoting the defintion of _finish_. The definition I have says "... crosses the finishing line *in the direction of the course from the last mark* ..." The last mark must be 'touched' by the string. Note that if the line is closed by making the ends marks, those marks are NOT rounding marks, and the string need not touch them. In fact, it would touch one of them but not the other, if both are to be left on the same side. As to multiple 'finishes': that does not happen, since it is only a finish when it happens '...from the last mark...' I disagree that that is what the definition says. Without further interpretation it says "A boat finishes when any part of her ... crosses the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark ... " Taken literally, this means that every time a boat crosses the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark, the boat "finishes". As I've previously said, I think this is a somewhat tortured construction, and is clearly unnecessary. It can be cured by making the necessary implication, as you have done. The others are just...laps? Geoff John |
#5
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
On Thu, 15 Apr 2004 09:00:04 UTC, "J. Allan"
wrote: "R. G. Newbury" wrote in message news:JcldVHe8EppF-pn2-Z0L2R9dSyv5O@Tor2 snip The definition of 'finish' requires that finishing be 'from the last mark'. I think you're misquoting the defintion of _finish_. The definition I have says "... crosses the finishing line *in the direction of the course from the last mark* ..." The last mark must be 'touched' by the string. Note that if the line is closed by making the ends marks, those marks are NOT rounding marks, and the string need not touch them. In fact, it would touch one of them but not the other, if both are to be left on the same side. As to multiple 'finishes': that does not happen, since it is only a finish when it happens '...from the last mark...' I disagree that that is what the definition says. Without further interpretation it says "A boat finishes when any part of her ... crosses the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark ... " Taken literally, this means that every time a boat crosses the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark, the boat "finishes". As I've previously said, I think this is a somewhat tortured construction, and is clearly unnecessary. It can be cured by making the necessary implication, as you have done. It is not a 'necessary implication' although you seem to think it necessary. Yours is definitely tortured: as you interpret it, a boat would 'finish' after the first half round of a multi-lap race, merely by sailing between the RC and the mark which is denoted as the other end of the finishing line. That is not the intention of the race, nor of the rules. Moreover, that interpretation would REQUIRE that every boat sail through the 'finishing line' on every lap because the finishing marks would therefore have a required side *at all times*. The thing which we simply call the 'finish line' does not become an actual 'finishing line' until a yacht has rounded the penultimate mark and commenced the last leg. Prior to that point, the ends of the 'finishing line' are marks of the course, but have no required side. See rule 28.2. The discussion has been about whether to/how to give those marks a required side at an earlier point in time in the race. The bit about 'in the direction of the course from the last mark' is meant to take care of lousy RC's who set weird lines which would require a button-hook finish. And 'last mark' is not just 'the immediately preceding mark' but 'the penultimate mark of the course'. You ought also to give some thought to the fact that in the example we have been dealing with, the line is also the starting line....??still and forever??? Get out your rule book and read it through about 5 times. Then browse to the ISAF site and look at some of the rules examples and cases. Geoff |
#6
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
On Wed, 14 Apr 2004 02:19:24 UTC, Gene Fuller
wrote: Geoff, The current definition of "finish" does not require "sailing the course". There is no connection to the string rule. The only option allowed to a Race Committee if a boat does not sail the course correctly is to protest the infringing boat. Automagical DNF penalties are not allowed. Sorry if I was unclear. There is a penalty available if a boat does not sail the course. That penalty can only be applied on protest. The point is that there is a penalty structure if the closed line is bounded by marks. That is not so clear if it is an obstruction. Unfortunately, as I have pointed out here before, many useful concepts were tossed out when the rules were screwed up. Geoff |
Reply |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Forum | |||
Birthdate of Norman Maclean | General | |||
Where to find ramp stories? | General | |||
How to use a simple SWR meter and what it means to your VHF | Electronics | |||
More on Reflected power on antenna feed lines | Electronics | |||
RRS 88.3 (b) & Restricted Line DSQ v DNE | General |