Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
#12
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
Denominating them as marks provides a penalty through 'sailing the
course'.. This is the major stupidity involved in having the RC in the middle of the arena. Bad setup, bad result. Realistically, if you figure you absolutely must have the RC in the middle, exactly WHY is it so important that the line be closed? Except for the RC's convenience? If it is because the RC likes it that way, they are not doing their proper job. Geoff And if the Finish line has the RC boat and outer pin designated as marks, and a boat passes through that 'invisible line, it probably then can correct itself, by coming back and going around either end and sailing a proper course. One must understand that not all race courses are windward-leeward, and you probably do. Modified Olympic courses have the RC boat in the middle, and various marks of equal distance radiating out from it. In this case, there are 8 rounding marks, all .75 miles from the RC boat, each mark 45 degrees on angle. So a variety of possible legs, some .75 miles, some 1.5 miles. Other courses of a similar makeup have 6 marks. And so on. But the RC boat is central, and some of the legs, besides start and finish, bring boats on a line by the start-finish area. In terms of why a line msut be closed probably had more to do with various classes out on the course, slow classes going first. Hence, closing the line to just finishes not only helps the RC in recording finishes, but avoids any confusion/mayhem that might occur when you have: boats finishing but are mixed in with boats still sailing a non-finishing leg (certain rules apply to a finishing boat that do not apply to another); and another class coming from the opposite direction through the finish line while still on a longer racing leg, opposed to boats trying to finish. It does happen. Even some windward-leeward courses have the RC boat on the course, closer to the leeward marks/gates. But, regardless of how the start-finish restriction may be stated in the SI's, unless there is linkage to a definition of penalties, or ways an offending boat can correct itself without penalty, the rule is useless when it comes to a Protest Committee hearing. Nothing is 'understood'. Now with starting boxes, as an example, regattas spell that out very clearly. If you are in your start, you stay in the box or this may happen. If it is not your start and you offend, then this may happen. |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Forum | |||
Birthdate of Norman Maclean | General | |||
Where to find ramp stories? | General | |||
How to use a simple SWR meter and what it means to your VHF | Electronics | |||
More on Reflected power on antenna feed lines | Electronics | |||
RRS 88.3 (b) & Restricted Line DSQ v DNE | General |