Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
|
#1
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
On Mon, 12 Apr 2004 13:46:02 UTC, "Garry McGonigal"
wrote: The main question is whether the SIs have to use the word "obstruction" in defining the area to be avoided, or is the fact that it is a prohibited area enough to make it an obstruction for the purposes of Rules 18 and 19? "Obstruction... an area so designated by the sailing instructions...." RRS Definitions. If you are writing the sailing instructions and you want it to be treated as an obstruction, then be sure to use the word "obstruction" in your declaration as well as "prohibited". That way the SIs will communicate clearly to the racers that it is to be treated as an obstruction. It may or may not be a legal requirement, but it never hurts to be explicit. The word 'prohibited' is not strictly actually necessary as it is essence of being an obstruction that requires it to be sailed around (rather than through)... But there is no doubt that adding this word makes the meaning clearer. Of course, making it clear only applies to that subset of the racers who read the instructions, and among those, to the subset who actually understand the instructions....So 24 point bold type might be in order! There are a few other problems associated with a SI that indicates the Finish Line is a 'prohibited area' unless finishing. (1) Light air starts, class just gets across the line, air shuts down, current pushes them back through the start-finish line. Now what? If your SI's are screwed up then this is a problem. If the SI's say 'Except when starting or finishing, the line is ...(prohibited)' then you deserve every problem which arises.... If your SI's say 'When proceeding from mark 1 to 3 or mark 3 to 4, ... the line is (prohibited)' then you have no problem as your recent starters are not yet on a leg when crossing the line is prohibited. In part, this is why I would and did nominate the line ends as marks of the leg when prohibiting passage between them. Under the old rules, marks only had 'sides' when on a leg which that mark began, ended or bounded. And more racers understand room at a mark than understand room at an obstruction... (2) Most of the SI's identify the situation as 'prohibited' or wording to that effect but do not spell out a consequence of going through the finish line before a finish. So, off to the Protest Committee, and the Committee says fine, but what is the penalty -- none spelled out in the SI's. Denominating them as marks provides a penalty through 'sailing the course'.. (3) Due to rough weather, the RC Boat gets moved around and in effect so does one end of the Finish Line. Along come boats on a leg, trying to figure out where one end of the Finish Line is so as to stay clear, but the RC boat is all over the place, perhaps the line 'grew' substantially from when the classes were started, and boats searching for the outer pin, unknowingly cross through this new finish line. It happens. Happened to us two seasons ago, we were in the lead, and we retired once we figured out where the heck the other end of the line was (behind us and maybe a few hundred yards further out and back in relationship to the RC boat). Yes, we could have continued and appealed, but at the time we did not know the RC boat was pulled off its position. And since the Start-Finish line is at times in the middle of some legs, you either take it on the pin or on the RC boat sides. This is the major stupidity involved in having the RC in the middle of the arena. Bad setup, bad result. Realistically, if you figure you absolutely must have the RC in the middle, exactly WHY is it so important that the line be closed? Except for the RC's convenience? If it is because the RC likes it that way, they are not doing their proper job. Geoff |
#2
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
Denominating them as marks provides a penalty through 'sailing the
course'.. This is the major stupidity involved in having the RC in the middle of the arena. Bad setup, bad result. Realistically, if you figure you absolutely must have the RC in the middle, exactly WHY is it so important that the line be closed? Except for the RC's convenience? If it is because the RC likes it that way, they are not doing their proper job. Geoff And if the Finish line has the RC boat and outer pin designated as marks, and a boat passes through that 'invisible line, it probably then can correct itself, by coming back and going around either end and sailing a proper course. One must understand that not all race courses are windward-leeward, and you probably do. Modified Olympic courses have the RC boat in the middle, and various marks of equal distance radiating out from it. In this case, there are 8 rounding marks, all .75 miles from the RC boat, each mark 45 degrees on angle. So a variety of possible legs, some .75 miles, some 1.5 miles. Other courses of a similar makeup have 6 marks. And so on. But the RC boat is central, and some of the legs, besides start and finish, bring boats on a line by the start-finish area. In terms of why a line msut be closed probably had more to do with various classes out on the course, slow classes going first. Hence, closing the line to just finishes not only helps the RC in recording finishes, but avoids any confusion/mayhem that might occur when you have: boats finishing but are mixed in with boats still sailing a non-finishing leg (certain rules apply to a finishing boat that do not apply to another); and another class coming from the opposite direction through the finish line while still on a longer racing leg, opposed to boats trying to finish. It does happen. Even some windward-leeward courses have the RC boat on the course, closer to the leeward marks/gates. But, regardless of how the start-finish restriction may be stated in the SI's, unless there is linkage to a definition of penalties, or ways an offending boat can correct itself without penalty, the rule is useless when it comes to a Protest Committee hearing. Nothing is 'understood'. Now with starting boxes, as an example, regattas spell that out very clearly. If you are in your start, you stay in the box or this may happen. If it is not your start and you offend, then this may happen. |
#3
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
On Mon, 12 Apr 2004 18:38:00 UTC, "Garry McGonigal"
wrote: Denominating them as marks provides a penalty through 'sailing the course'.. This is the major stupidity involved in having the RC in the middle of the arena. Bad setup, bad result. Realistically, if you figure you absolutely must have the RC in the middle, exactly WHY is it so important that the line be closed? Except for the RC's convenience? If it is because the RC likes it that way, they are not doing their proper job. Geoff And if the Finish line has the RC boat and outer pin designated as marks, and a boat passes through that 'invisible line, it probably then can correct itself, by coming back and going around either end and sailing a proper course. One must understand that not all race courses are windward-leeward, and you probably do. Modified Olympic courses have the RC boat in the middle, and various marks of equal distance radiating out from it. In this case, there are 8 rounding marks, all .75 miles from the RC boat, each mark 45 degrees on angle. So a variety of possible legs, some .75 miles, some 1.5 miles. Other courses of a similar makeup have 6 marks. And so on. But the RC boat is central, and some of the legs, besides start and finish, bring boats on a line by the start-finish area. This was the form of course used for quite a number of years in the Toronto area and still is by some of the local clubs. Having the RC in the middle was 'easy' but not always 'good'. The last year or 2 that this setup was used, the line was proscribed by using the wording I set out " when proceeding from mark 2 to 3, mark 1 and the RC shall be left either both to starboard, or both to port". They may or may not have also said, the line between the RC and mark 1 is an obstruction to any boat sailing a leg which does not commence or end at the start or finish line. But having the RC in the middle always gave lousy racing for closewinded boats when the wind shifted. Having the RC at the bottom was not much better. There were some trials which made the line a gate on the second round, so that a change of course could be made, providing a better beat for 1/2 of the round (in contradistinction to a fetch from the 'bottom'). In the end, we stopped using fixed mark courses. Locally Ashbridges Bay YC continues to use a fixed circle of marks for weeknight racing, but starts are from the bottom and course changes are rare if not extinct. Still gives good weeknight racing: its not the full-on level, its the full-fun level! The RC uses the 'bottom' mark as the start/finish pin, and even if fleets are still starting when the first (fast) boats get back, the problem is for the incoming boats (on port and rounding into the face of the starboard starters!).. In terms of why a line msut be closed probably had more to do with various classes out on the course, slow classes going first. Hence, closing the line to just finishes not only helps the RC in recording finishes, but avoids any confusion/mayhem that might occur when you have: boats finishing but are mixed in with boats still sailing a non-finishing leg (certain rules apply to a finishing boat that do not apply to another); and another class coming from the opposite direction through the finish line while still on a longer racing leg, opposed to boats trying to finish. It does happen. Personally, I now believe that any course which seems to 'require' a closed line, is a cop-out by the RC. There is no real reason why the RC *has to* remain exactly *there* to finish the racers. It *may* be reasonable to start from there, but realistically the RC could just as easily move to some other point of the course to finish boats. It does not have to anchor. Even some windward-leeward courses have the RC boat on the course, closer to the leeward marks/gates. But the line should NOT be immediately to weather of the leeward mark *AND* closed. The RC should be below the leeward mark. If the RC wants to use the leeward mark as the pin it should move to the other side so that all boats leave the pin to port. But, regardless of how the start-finish restriction may be stated in the SI's, unless there is linkage to a definition of penalties, or ways an offending boat can correct itself without penalty, the rule is useless when it comes to a Protest Committee hearing. Nothing is 'understood'. If you feel you *have to*, then making them marks, and defining the course to proscribe passing between them automagically provides the penalty....DNF for not sailing the course! There were USYRU and IYRU cases about 'required sides' etc. and the 'string rule' which discussed this... Long since lost in the mists of history unfortunately. Now with starting boxes, as an example, regattas spell that out very clearly. If you are in your start, you stay in the box or this may happen. If it is not your start and you offend, then this may happen. Exactly. Geoff |
#4
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
Geoff,
The current definition of "finish" does not require "sailing the course". There is no connection to the string rule. The only option allowed to a Race Committee if a boat does not sail the course correctly is to protest the infringing boat. Automagical DNF penalties are not allowed. If a boat crosses the finish line from the direction of the last mark it has finished, subject only to the technicalities spelled out in the definition. Note that the boat does not need to round the last mark; it only needs to cross the finish line from the direction of the last mark. I won't argue whether this is right or wrong, but it is the current rule. See ISAF Case 45 for further reinforcement that the definition of finish cannot be changed. Regards, Gene Fuller R. G. Newbury wrote: [big snip] If you feel you *have to*, then making them marks, and defining the course to proscribe passing between them automagically provides the penalty....DNF for not sailing the course! There were USYRU and IYRU cases about 'required sides' etc. and the 'string rule' which discussed this... Long since lost in the mists of history unfortunately. Now with starting boxes, as an example, regattas spell that out very clearly. If you are in your start, you stay in the box or this may happen. If it is not your start and you offend, then this may happen. Exactly. Geoff |
#5
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
"Gene Fuller" wrote in message
Geoff, The current definition of "finish" does not require "sailing the course". There is no connection to the string rule. MMMMMM, I understand: If the finish line is in the middle of the race course, a boat can "finish" numerous times as she passes through the finish line from the direction of the last mark, on various legs or laps. But a boat can only sail the course under RRS 28.1 once. I think this is a somewhat tortured construction, and I think it would be correct to imply into the definitition of _finish_ words to the effect of "after properly rounding the last mark". Otherwise, or as well, there should be implied or expressly written into RRS A4.2, immediately before the word _finish_, the words "sail the course in accordance with rule 28.1 and". The only option allowed to a Race Committee if a boat does not sail the course correctly is to protest the infringing boat. Automagical DNF penalties are not allowed. Do you have an Appeals Case for this. I don't think Case 45 gets quite there. If a boat crosses the finish line from the direction of the last mark it has finished, subject only to the technicalities spelled out in the definition. Note that the boat does not need to round the last mark; it only needs to cross the finish line from the direction of the last mark. I disagree: although a 'black-letter' construction of the definition of "finish" indicates this, such an interpretation leads to the absurdity I described above, that a boat can "finish" numerous times in the same race. The canons of construction allow for interpretation or implication to remove absurdities. As I indicated, it think it is quite proper and right to imply "after properly rounding the last mark" into the definition of _finish_. I won't argue whether this is right or wrong, but it is the current rule. See ISAF Case 45 for further reinforcement that the definition of finish cannot be changed. snip John |
#6
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
On Wed, 14 Apr 2004 12:32:10 UTC, "J. Allan"
wrote: "Gene Fuller" wrote in message Geoff, The current definition of "finish" does not require "sailing the course". There is no connection to the string rule. Of course there is a connection to the string rule. The definition of 'finish' requires that finishing be 'from the last mark'. The last mark must be 'touched' by the string. Note that if the line is closed by making the ends marks, those marks are NOT rounding marks, and the string need not touch them. In fact, it would touch one of them but not the other, if both are to be left on the same side. As to multiple 'finishes': that does not happen, since it is only a finish when it happens '...from the last mark...' The others are just...laps? Geoff |
#7
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
"R. G. Newbury" wrote in message
news:JcldVHe8EppF-pn2-Z0L2R9dSyv5O@Tor2 snip The definition of 'finish' requires that finishing be 'from the last mark'. I think you're misquoting the defintion of _finish_. The definition I have says "... crosses the finishing line *in the direction of the course from the last mark* ..." The last mark must be 'touched' by the string. Note that if the line is closed by making the ends marks, those marks are NOT rounding marks, and the string need not touch them. In fact, it would touch one of them but not the other, if both are to be left on the same side. As to multiple 'finishes': that does not happen, since it is only a finish when it happens '...from the last mark...' I disagree that that is what the definition says. Without further interpretation it says "A boat finishes when any part of her ... crosses the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark ... " Taken literally, this means that every time a boat crosses the finishing line in the direction of the course from the last mark, the boat "finishes". As I've previously said, I think this is a somewhat tortured construction, and is clearly unnecessary. It can be cured by making the necessary implication, as you have done. The others are just...laps? Geoff John |
#8
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
On Wed, 14 Apr 2004 02:19:24 UTC, Gene Fuller
wrote: Geoff, The current definition of "finish" does not require "sailing the course". There is no connection to the string rule. The only option allowed to a Race Committee if a boat does not sail the course correctly is to protest the infringing boat. Automagical DNF penalties are not allowed. Sorry if I was unclear. There is a penalty available if a boat does not sail the course. That penalty can only be applied on protest. The point is that there is a penalty structure if the closed line is bounded by marks. That is not so clear if it is an obstruction. Unfortunately, as I have pointed out here before, many useful concepts were tossed out when the rules were screwed up. Geoff |
#9
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
Thanks for the input, everyone. Just for those who are interested, we
use a mid-course start / finish line for our Thursday night beer can races. We use two drop marks (in addition to the start and finish marks) that are always in the same position, and a government channel marker. Sometimes we get windward legs, sometimes the entire race consists of reaches. All boats sail three legs, and the spinnaker boats additionally sail to the "weather" mark and back to the finish. This results in boats finishing from both directions simultaneously. We therefore have separate finish lines for the two fleets, with the committee boat in the middle. The most interesting thing about our racing is the Navy operations that often occur in the area. We often get Seals jumping out of helicopters into our race area, and then they get retrieved. We also get an occasional antisubmarine sled towed through the course. Not great for "real" racing because of the requirement for us to stay well clear of these operations, but good enough for this level of competition. We normally have about 20 nonspinnaker boats and 10 spinnaker boats registered. Most are learning to race or trying to improve racing skills for the more important weekend races with other clubs. Thanks again, Jim Williams On Mon, 12 Apr 2004 16:20:14 GMT, "R. G. Newbury" wrote: On Mon, 12 Apr 2004 13:46:02 UTC, "Garry McGonigal" wrote: The main question is whether the SIs have to use the word "obstruction" in defining the area to be avoided, or is the fact that it is a prohibited area enough to make it an obstruction for the purposes of Rules 18 and 19? "Obstruction... an area so designated by the sailing instructions...." RRS Definitions. If you are writing the sailing instructions and you want it to be treated as an obstruction, then be sure to use the word "obstruction" in your declaration as well as "prohibited". That way the SIs will communicate clearly to the racers that it is to be treated as an obstruction. It may or may not be a legal requirement, but it never hurts to be explicit. The word 'prohibited' is not strictly actually necessary as it is essence of being an obstruction that requires it to be sailed around (rather than through)... But there is no doubt that adding this word makes the meaning clearer. Of course, making it clear only applies to that subset of the racers who read the instructions, and among those, to the subset who actually understand the instructions....So 24 point bold type might be in order! There are a few other problems associated with a SI that indicates the Finish Line is a 'prohibited area' unless finishing. (1) Light air starts, class just gets across the line, air shuts down, current pushes them back through the start-finish line. Now what? If your SI's are screwed up then this is a problem. If the SI's say 'Except when starting or finishing, the line is ...(prohibited)' then you deserve every problem which arises.... If your SI's say 'When proceeding from mark 1 to 3 or mark 3 to 4, ... the line is (prohibited)' then you have no problem as your recent starters are not yet on a leg when crossing the line is prohibited. In part, this is why I would and did nominate the line ends as marks of the leg when prohibiting passage between them. Under the old rules, marks only had 'sides' when on a leg which that mark began, ended or bounded. And more racers understand room at a mark than understand room at an obstruction... (2) Most of the SI's identify the situation as 'prohibited' or wording to that effect but do not spell out a consequence of going through the finish line before a finish. So, off to the Protest Committee, and the Committee says fine, but what is the penalty -- none spelled out in the SI's. Denominating them as marks provides a penalty through 'sailing the course'.. (3) Due to rough weather, the RC Boat gets moved around and in effect so does one end of the Finish Line. Along come boats on a leg, trying to figure out where one end of the Finish Line is so as to stay clear, but the RC boat is all over the place, perhaps the line 'grew' substantially from when the classes were started, and boats searching for the outer pin, unknowingly cross through this new finish line. It happens. Happened to us two seasons ago, we were in the lead, and we retired once we figured out where the heck the other end of the line was (behind us and maybe a few hundred yards further out and back in relationship to the RC boat). Yes, we could have continued and appealed, but at the time we did not know the RC boat was pulled off its position. And since the Start-Finish line is at times in the middle of some legs, you either take it on the pin or on the RC boat sides. This is the major stupidity involved in having the RC in the middle of the arena. Bad setup, bad result. Realistically, if you figure you absolutely must have the RC in the middle, exactly WHY is it so important that the line be closed? Except for the RC's convenience? If it is because the RC likes it that way, they are not doing their proper job. Geoff |
Reply |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Forum | |||
Birthdate of Norman Maclean | General | |||
Where to find ramp stories? | General | |||
How to use a simple SWR meter and what it means to your VHF | Electronics | |||
More on Reflected power on antenna feed lines | Electronics | |||
RRS 88.3 (b) & Restricted Line DSQ v DNE | General |