Home |
Search |
Today's Posts |
#1
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]()
Our club prohibits crossing the start / finish line except to start or
finish. The entire area, including nearby extensions of the start / finish line, are navigable. Our sailing instructions do not modify RRS 28.1 (the "string" rule) in this regard, so "unwinding" is permitted. A handful of sailors had a lively discussion over beer one night regarding whether the prohibited start / finish line ranks as an obstruction. It is clearly not a mark - boats can (and do) leave this area to either side depending on individual polars or tactical circumstances. The RRS definitions state that an obstruction is "an object that a boat could not pass...", but the line is not an object. Further, the definitions state that "...an area so designated by the sailing instructions (is) also (an) obstruction...". Does the prohibition of crossing the line in the sailing instructions make the "area so designated by the sailing instructions" an obstruction, or would the SIs have to specifically state that the line ranks as an obstruction? Thanks, Jim Williams Willoughby Racers Norfolk, VA |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Forum | |||
Birthdate of Norman Maclean | General | |||
Where to find ramp stories? | General | |||
How to use a simple SWR meter and what it means to your VHF | Electronics | |||
More on Reflected power on antenna feed lines | Electronics | |||
RRS 88.3 (b) & Restricted Line DSQ v DNE | General |