Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1   Report Post  
Dennis Bartley
 
Posts: n/a
Default RRS 88.3 (b) & Restricted Line DSQ v DNE

I hardly think that's a rule 2 violation, any more that a port tacking
someone is a violation of rule 2. I can find no appeal or case that adresses
the subject.

Technically, I don't believe the r/c can unilaterally DSQ the boat without a
hearing.


  #2   Report Post  
Gary Gardina
 
Posts: n/a
Default RRS 88.3 (b) & Restricted Line DSQ v DNE

Dennis Bartley wrote:

I hardly think that's a rule 2 violation, any more that a port tacking
someone is a violation of rule 2. I can find no appeal or case that adresses
the subject.


Port tacking seems to be well addressed in Part 2 Section A – Right of
Way and Section B – General Limitations, and also seems to be addressed
in Section A. Plus the penalties for this type of infraction seems to
be defined in 44 PENALTIES FOR BREAKING RULES OF PART 2, and for other
simiar infractions in 31.2, 44.3, etc.

However, failing to sail the course might be more applicable in this
case. I guess that my question regarding rule 2 and the restricted line
is more related to failing to sail the course a proper manner and at the
same time doing so in a manner that clearly gives the violating boat an
unfair advantage.


Technically, I don't believe the r/c can unilaterally DSQ the boat without a
hearing.



Good point. I think that you are correct here. The Appendix A Guidance
states:

"5. Race committees are reminded that, in the absence of a SI to the
contrary, they must give a finishing position to any
boat that starts and finishes as defined. If the RC believes that a boat
has not sailed the required course they must
protest her (under the last sentence of rule A5 they cannot disqualify
her without a hearing nor score her DNF)."








  #3   Report Post  
Dennis Bartley
 
Posts: n/a
Default RRS 88.3 (b) & Restricted Line DSQ v DNE


Port tacking seems to be well addressed in Part 2 Section A – Right of
Way and Section B – General Limitations, and also seems to be addressed
in Section A. Plus the penalties for this type of infraction seems to
be defined in 44 PENALTIES FOR BREAKING RULES OF PART 2, and for other
simiar infractions in 31.2, 44.3, etc.

However, failing to sail the course might be more applicable in this
case. I guess that my question regarding rule 2 and the restricted line
is more related to failing to sail the course a proper manner and at the
same time doing so in a manner that clearly gives the violating boat an
unfair advantage.


Yes, as you point out, this is a violation of rule 28. Since it isn't part
2, you can only correct it by unwinding the string properly, not a 720 (or
other alternative penaly). Should he not fix the mistake, the only penalty
is DSQ.

What would be a violation of fair sailing is if it were something like the
last race of the series, all he needed was to push one boat back in the
fleet, intentionally violated a rule so he could get on top of this one
boat. A similar incident


  #4   Report Post  
Dennis Bartley
 
Posts: n/a
Default RRS 88.3 (b) & Restricted Line DSQ v DNE

Missed the last part of this story...

... a similar incident ocurred in the 1984 Olympic Finn qualifiers. One boat
would win even if he was last, as long as another competitor didn't finish
in the top 10 (or something like that). So he crossed the line early, then
sat on top of his friend for the race, and when he pushed his friend to last
place at the windard mark, retired. This is the basis for IYRU case 34.


  #5   Report Post  
Gary Gardina
 
Posts: n/a
Default RRS 88.3 (b) & Restricted Line DSQ v DNE

Dennis Bartley wrote:
Port tacking seems to be well addressed in Part 2 Section A – Right of
Way and Section B – General Limitations, and also seems to be addressed
in Section A. Plus the penalties for this type of infraction seems to
be defined in 44 PENALTIES FOR BREAKING RULES OF PART 2, and for other
simiar infractions in 31.2, 44.3, etc.

However, failing to sail the course might be more applicable in this
case. I guess that my question regarding rule 2 and the restricted line
is more related to failing to sail the course a proper manner and at the
same time doing so in a manner that clearly gives the violating boat an
unfair advantage.



Yes, as you point out, this is a violation of rule 28. Since it isn't part
2, you can only correct it by unwinding the string properly, not a 720 (or
other alternative penaly). Should he not fix the mistake, the only penalty
is DSQ.



OK... now it's clear to me -- thanks.


What would be a violation of fair sailing is if it were something like the
last race of the series, all he needed was to push one boat back in the
fleet, intentionally violated a rule so he could get on top of this one
boat. A similar incident



Missed the last part of this story...

.. a similar incident ocurred in the 1984 Olympic Finn qualifiers. One boat
would win even if he was last, as long as another competitor didn't finish
in the top 10 (or something like that). So he crossed the line early, then
sat on top of his friend for the race, and when he pushed his friend to last
place at the windard mark, retired. This is the basis for IYRU case 34.



IYRU Case 34 & the other Rule 2 cases are an interesting read. While
there I learned something about individual recalls (cases 31, 65, 71 &
79)that I had questions on -- thanks again!

Gary





  #6   Report Post  
glgxg
 
Posts: n/a
Default RRS 88.3 (b) & Restricted Line DSQ v DNE

Dennis Bartley wrote:
Port tacking seems to be well addressed in Part 2 Section A – Right of
Way and Section B – General Limitations, and also seems to be addressed
in Section A. Plus the penalties for this type of infraction seems to
be defined in 44 PENALTIES FOR BREAKING RULES OF PART 2, and for other
simiar infractions in 31.2, 44.3, etc.

However, failing to sail the course might be more applicable in this
case. I guess that my question regarding rule 2 and the restricted line
is more related to failing to sail the course a proper manner and at the
same time doing so in a manner that clearly gives the violating boat an
unfair advantage.



Yes, as you point out, this is a violation of rule 28. Since it isn't part
2, you can only correct it by unwinding the string properly, not a 720 (or
other alternative penaly). Should he not fix the mistake, the only penalty
is DSQ.



OK... now it's clear to me -- thanks.


What would be a violation of fair sailing is if it were something like the
last race of the series, all he needed was to push one boat back in the
fleet, intentionally violated a rule so he could get on top of this one
boat. A similar incident



Missed the last part of this story...

.. a similar incident ocurred in the 1984 Olympic Finn qualifiers. One boat
would win even if he was last, as long as another competitor didn't finish
in the top 10 (or something like that). So he crossed the line early, then
sat on top of his friend for the race, and when he pushed his friend to last
place at the windard mark, retired. This is the basis for IYRU case 34.



IYRU Case 34 & the other Rule 2 cases are an interesting read. While
there I learned something about individual recalls (cases 31, 65, 71 &
79)that I had questions on -- thanks again!

Gary



  #7   Report Post  
glgxg
 
Posts: n/a
Default RRS 88.3 (b) & Restricted Line DSQ v DNE

Dennis Bartley wrote:

I hardly think that's a rule 2 violation, any more that a port tacking
someone is a violation of rule 2. I can find no appeal or case that adresses
the subject.


Port tacking seems to be well addressed in Part 2 Section A – Right of
Way and Section B – General Limitations, and also seems to be addressed
in Section A. Plus the penalties for this type of infraction seems to
be defined in 44 PENALTIES FOR BREAKING RULES OF PART 2, and for other
simiar infractions in 31.2, 44.3, etc.

However, failing to sail the course might be more applicable in this
case. I guess that my question regarding rule 2 and the restricted line
is more related to failing to sail the course a proper manner and at the
same time doing so in a manner that clearly gives the violating boat an
unfair advantage.


Technically, I don't believe the r/c can unilaterally DSQ the boat without a
hearing.



Good point. I think that you are correct here. The Appendix A Guidance
states:

"5. Race committees are reminded that, in the absence of a SI to the
contrary, they must give a finishing position to any
boat that starts and finishes as defined. If the RC believes that a boat
has not sailed the required course they must
protest her (under the last sentence of rule A5 they cannot disqualify
her without a hearing nor score her DNF)."











..


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Birthdate of Norman Maclean Harry Krause General 1 December 24th 03 12:05 AM
More on Reflected power on antenna feed lines Gary Schafer Electronics 0 November 24th 03 01:19 AM
COLREGS - The final word on pecking order in restricted visibility. Simple Simon General 84 October 19th 03 05:41 AM
Continuous Line Replacement JR General 4 October 18th 03 09:04 PM
Fuel pump to carbs fuel line replacement Bob General 5 July 29th 03 05:51 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2025 BoatBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.
 

About Us

"It's about Boats"

 

Copyright © 2017