crash boom bucks!
On Oct 15, 2:09*pm, "Roger Long" wrote:
...OTOH, if the smaller vessel
tacked into a right of way position before MF could reasonably respond,
which is somewhat a size issue, than she was not actually the stand on
vessel....
AFIK, "Stand By" didn't tack. The photos show her on stb for the
entire collision. I'm guessing that some of the folks who said she
tacked saw her spin after she made contact -- and perhaps because the
sound was delayed thought she spun before the collision.
I also don't think MF is claiming rule 9 rights so it is a little
theoretical, but do folks think that 9(b) means that a sailing vessel
can't have rule 9 rights at all or that a sailing vessel that can only
navigate in a narrow channel has rights but still gives way to non-
sailing vessels?
--Tom.
|