View Single Post
  #6   Report Post  
John Allan
 
Posts: n/a
Default rules question at start, pinned under a boat to windward

In article ,
says...
John Allan wrote:
says...
John Allan wrote:


Now it's hard for me to pin down the situation exactly from your
description (whether that is my fault or yours I don't know) but it
sounds as if A (to windward) has let themselves get into a really bad
situation. I think if I was B, I'd tap A's transom,

Ahh, the famous "love tap": went out in 1995 I believe.

If you tap A with anything you will probably infringe RRS 14 at least.


14(b) says I won't get penalised for a "tap".


I disagree. The stem of RRS 14 requires B (or any other boat) to avoid
contact if reasonably possible: B alters course so as to cause contact,
then I don't think one even gets to look at subparagraph (b).


I think we might all be approaching furious agreement here.

Andy's right that you won't get penalized under 14 for a tap that does
no damage. But that's not the point - the "love tap" is out because of
rule 16: "16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give
the other boat room to keep clear." My take is that a deliberate tap
would break rule 16.


Yup, and if Andy "gives" A a tap then I'm inclined to think that he had
to alter course to do it: Andy's not such a fool as to reach out his
hand and go "tap" (although I was in a CQ on Sunday and I saw the little
hands coming out under the guardrails and I thought, come on guys, foul
me,... please ...).

So Andy, on B plays possum yelling furiously to A in the hope that A will
go up and kick B with the transom: what then: B, of course, will swear
blind that he altered course (0.01 degrees) away from A to avoid contact,
and, as Andy has said, under RRS 14(b), as the right of way boat is not
to be penalised (under RRS 14 at any rate). I reckon that A will also
claim exoneration under RRS 14, saying that A was entitled to room from B
because B acquired right of way and under RRS 15 failed initially to give
room.

But you're free to take your chances in the
protest room if you're so inclined.


Has B hailed C and D under RRS 18 for room to pass the obstruction (A
unable to respond to B's luff) yet?

As for the original question it's a little too vague to really tell
what's what.


Dunno, the only thing I think is not stated in the scenario was whether B
has overtaken A close to leeward, thus clearly failing to "initially"
give A room under RRS 15, or whether , somehow or other, B has
"initially" given A room.

John