Obstruction - Start / Finish Line
On Wed, 14 Apr 2004 12:32:10 UTC, "J. Allan"
wrote:
"Gene Fuller" wrote in message
Geoff,
The current definition of "finish" does not require "sailing the
course". There is no connection to the string rule.
Of course there is a connection to the string rule.
The definition of 'finish' requires that finishing be 'from the last
mark'. The last mark must be 'touched' by the string. Note that if the
line is closed by making the ends marks, those marks are NOT rounding
marks, and the string need not touch them. In fact, it would touch one
of them but not the other, if both are to be left on the same side.
As to multiple 'finishes': that does not happen, since it is only a
finish when it happens '...from the last mark...'
The others are just...laps?
Geoff
|