![]() |
Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question
Here's the scenario:
Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here? IOW, does "room" as cited in 18.5 include only the hulls or is it "equipment in normal position"? Seems to me it would be the latter, but I can't find an explicit cite of "equipment in normal position" in the definition of room Note: W is not sailing backwards by backing a sail. For reference, here's 18.5 18.5 Passing a Continuing Obstruction While boats are passing a continuing obstruction, rules 18.2(b) and 18.2(c) do not apply. A boat clear astern that obtains an inside overlap is entitled to room to pass between the other boat and the obstruction only if at the moment the overlap begins there is room to do so. If there is not, she is not entitled to room and shall keep clear. Here's the definition of Room: The space a boat needs in the existing conditions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way. Thanks. //Walt |
Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question
Walt wrote:
Here's the scenario: Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here? IOW, does "room" as cited in 18.5 include only the hulls or is it "equipment in normal position"? Seems to me it would be the latter, but I can't find an explicit cite of "equipment in normal position" in the definition of room Note: W is not sailing backwards by backing a sail. For reference, here's 18.5 18.5 Passing a Continuing Obstruction While boats are passing a continuing obstruction, rules 18.2(b) and 18.2(c) do not apply. A boat clear astern that obtains an inside overlap is entitled to room to pass between the other boat and the obstruction only if at the moment the overlap begins there is room to do so. If there is not, she is not entitled to room and shall keep clear. Here's the definition of Room: The space a boat needs in the existing conditions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way. Thanks. //Walt Walt, It is not apparent that Rule 18 applies at all. You did not say anything about the proximity to starting line marks so it is not clear whether 18.1(a) is in effect. The leeward boat (obstruction) does not have a required side, so that would also eliminate Rule 18 from consideration. It seems to me that only Rule 15 is in play in the situation described. Rule 16 may also apply. In addition, if the starting signal has already been made, there may be a proper course issue subject to Rule 17. The middle boat can definitely force the windward boat to head up, as long as the windward boat is given time and room to do so. Regards, Gene Fuller |
Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question
Walt wrote:
Here's the scenario: Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here? L doesn't really come into the picture. This is purely a question of M and W. Initially, M is clear astern: 12 ON THE SAME TACK, NOT OVERLAPPED When boats are on the same tack and not overlapped, a boat clear astern shall keep clear of a boat clear ahead. At some point, M becomes overlapped with W. W now has to keep clear of M, but, M is restricted by: 15 ACQUIRING RIGHT OF WAY When a boat acquires right of way, she shall initially give the other boat room to keep clear, unless she acquires right of way because of the other boat's actions. Since there is no proper course before the start (see the definition of Proper Course), 17.1 does not come into play. So, W needs to keep clear of M, but she doesn't need to begin maneuvering to keep clear until the overlap is established, and even then, she only has to maneuver in a seamanlike manner. She's got to trim her boom back inside the sheerline, but only needs to do so hand-over-hand on the sheet; she doesn't need to grab all parts of a multi-part mainsheet system and do a panic trim. She needs to head up to stay clear, but doesn't need to throw the helm hard over. Furthermore, if W's boom was so far out and you stuck your bow so close in that in the course of her normal trimming of the mainsheet the swinging boom hit your forestay, then I'd say you didn't give W sufficient room. Probably not an issue on something like a J/24 with a fairly short boom, but it certainly could be with a longer boom (perhaps even one that overhangs the transom). IOW, does "room" as cited in 18.5 include only the hulls or is it "equipment in normal position"? I don't see that 18.5 has anything to do with this. 18.5 talks about a "continuing obstruction", which is generally taken to mean the shoreline, a long dock, a fishing net, or the like. Where I sail, there's some kind of marine construction project going on, and there's a long line of pilings driven into the bottom near the edge of the bay. They're spaced a couple of boatlengths apart, and the line goes on for 1/4 mile or more; I'd call that a continuing obstruction. A boat to leeward of you does not fit that definition. |
Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question
Walt wrote:
Here's the scenario: Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here? IOW, does "room" as cited in 18.5 include only the hulls or is it "equipment in normal position"? Seems to me it would be the latter, but I can't find an explicit cite of "equipment in normal position" in the definition of room Note: W is not sailing backwards by backing a sail. For reference, here's 18.5 18.5 Passing a Continuing Obstruction While boats are passing a continuing obstruction, rules 18.2(b) and 18.2(c) do not apply. A boat clear astern that obtains an inside overlap is entitled to room to pass between the other boat and the obstruction only if at the moment the overlap begins there is room to do so. If there is not, she is not entitled to room and shall keep clear. Here's the definition of Room: The space a boat needs in the existing conditions while manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way. Thanks. //Walt Walt, Let me amplify on my previous response, which was very similar to Roy's. There is no question that two boats traveling in parallel over some distance can constitute a "continuing obstruction" situation. There are examples shown in the appeals case book and in Dave Perry's book for boats heading downwind toward a finish line. In the case you described it seems difficult to have such a "continuing obstruction". It seems far more likely that the overlap of M on W would occur long before M would reach the stern of L. This is especially true if the boats were not close hauled. If M overlapped W well before M would overlap L then ordinary luffing rights apply between M and W. This is clearly a judgment call. Did M really stick its nose in between W and L or was this a simple two-boat encounter between M and W? Was L traveling in the same direction and speed as W? How long did the parallel travel between L and W exist? The case book references 6 boat lengths as clearly satisfying the continuing obstruction case, but there is no minimum offered. Regards, Gene Fuller |
Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question
Roy Smith wrote:
Walt wrote: Here's the scenario: Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here? I don't see that 18.5 has anything to do with this. 18.5 talks about a "continuing obstruction", which is generally taken to mean the shoreline, a long dock, a fishing net, or the like. I beg to differ. I think 18.5 *does* apply here. Take a look at case 16 from the 2005 casebook. http://www.sailing.org/rrs2005/casebook2005.pdf "When a boat clear astern overtakes two overlapping boats clear ahead, she may intervene between them only if there is room to pass between them." Now, in that example the boats are on a run, not on a beat, but I don't see how that changes anything regarding whether L is an obstruction to M and W. The case states that L is a continuing obstruction to M and W and that rule 18.5 applies. M can stick her bow in between L and W *only* if there is room to pass between them. What is different between the scenario I present and case 16 is that in my example the boats are going upwind, and to sail between the boats in a seamanlike way would require M to trim her sail in, while in case 16 the "seamanlike" thing to do would be to sail with the boom out. The question is whether W is required to be "seamanlike" and pull her boom in as well. Certainly Rule 12 would require that, but rule 12 would be trumped by rule 18.5. That was the basic argument - M said "Pull in your boom.", W said "No, I don't have to, there's no room for you in between me and L so you must keep clear." Note: Case 29 also has an example of a leward boat being a continuing obstruction. //Walt |
Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question
Gene Fuller wrote:
Walt wrote: Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here? It is not apparent that Rule 18 applies at all. You did not say anything about the proximity to starting line marks so it is not clear whether 18.1(a) is in effect. You are right that I didn't say anything about proximity to the starting marks. This happened in the middle of the line far from the starting marks. The only obstructions in the picture are other boats. 18.1 is not in effect. The leeward boat (obstruction) does not have a required side, so that would also eliminate Rule 18 from consideration. Um, no. Rule 18 applies when boats are about to round or pass a mark they are required to leave on the same side, or an obstruction on the same side, until they have passed it. Read that carefully. A *mark* must have a required side for rule 18 to apply, but an obstruction need not have a required side. All that has to happen is for the boats to be passing the obstruction on the same side and rule 18 applies. Boats that you are required to avoid are obstructions. In particular, L is an obstruction to M and W because they must keep clear of L. It's a continuing obstruction because M and W will be sailing along side it for a while. //Walt |
Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question
In article ,
Walt wrote: I beg to differ. I think 18.5 *does* apply here. Take a look at case 16 from the 2005 casebook. http://www.sailing.org/rrs2005/casebook2005.pdf Interesting. I have some reading to do. Thanks! |
Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question
Gene Fuller wrote:
Walt wrote: Boat W is to windward of boat L approaching the starting line on a close reach with her boom outboard of the gunwales in order to slow down. Boat M comes up from clear astern of boat W and tries to go in between boat W and boat L. At the moment the overlap begins, there is enough space for M to pass between the hulls of boat W and L, but not enough space for her to pass between W's boom and L. Is M entitled to room here? There is no question that two boats traveling in parallel over some distance can constitute a "continuing obstruction" situation. There are examples shown in the appeals case book and in Dave Perry's book for boats heading downwind toward a finish line. In the case you described it seems difficult to have such a "continuing obstruction". It seems far more likely that the overlap of M on W would occur long before M would reach the stern of L. This is especially true if the boats were not close hauled. If M overlapped W well before M would overlap L then ordinary luffing rights apply between M and W. Ok. Maybe I didn't provide enough detail. These are dinghys. W and L were "camped-out" on the starting line, i.e. with about a minute to go they were about two boat lengths below the starting line and sitting nearly still - sails flogging while waiting for the start, keeping just enough way on to have steerage. M was sailing along the line below all the camped-out boats looking for a gap, and with about 30 seconds to go tried to squeeze in between W and L. Thus, W and L were overlapped next to each other for some considerable abount of time, and M was clear astern of both of them until she sailed in between them. At the moment when M became overlapped with W there was enough space for M to pass between the hulls, but not enough space to pass between the end of W's boom and L's hull. Did M really stick its nose in between W and L or was this a simple two-boat encounter between M and W? M stuck her bow in between M and W. W and L were close enough together that there was space to pass in betwenn the hulls, but not between the boom and the bull. Was L traveling in the same direction and speed as W? Yes. How long did the parallel travel between L and W exist? For about 60 seconds before the gun, and for a few minutes afterward until W tacked away. I think this pretty clearly meets the criteria of "continuing". BTW, I wasn't a participant in this situation, so I really don't have a dog in this fight. I'm interested in finding out the correct answer, not some sort of vindication of my position. My *opinion* is that M is not entitled to room under 18.5, but a contrary opinion is that M is entitled to room because there's enough space for her to fit between the hulls. Is it the the distance between the hulls that count, or is it the hull and boom? Looking for supporting arguments one way or the other... //Walt |
Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question
Walt wrote:
[snip] BTW, I wasn't a participant in this situation, so I really don't have a dog in this fight. I'm interested in finding out the correct answer, not some sort of vindication of my position. My *opinion* is that M is not entitled to room under 18.5, but a contrary opinion is that M is entitled to room because there's enough space for her to fit between the hulls. Is it the the distance between the hulls that count, or is it the hull and boom? Looking for supporting arguments one way or the other... //Walt Walt, There are few rules or appeals that specifically mention the hull as opposed to the complete equipment on a boat. For example, there is no question that touching a sail constitutes contact, even if the sail is an out of control spinnaker. Touching a line dragging in the water is also contact. The only two cases I can think of where an unusual position of equipment would be questioned are the classic cartoon showing extreme spinnaker position at the finish line and a deliberate sudden repositioning of the boom or a sail to block or hit an overtaking boat. The latter is probably a Rule 2 violation. Sailboat racing isn't quite NASCAR or Roller Derby yet. In the situation you described it would appear that the W boat had a perfectly valid reason to have the boom extended over the side of the boat. The boom is part of the overall envelope of the W boat. I agree with your position. Regards, Gene Fuller |
Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question
Gene Fuller wrote:
Walt wrote: My *opinion* is that M is not entitled to room under 18.5, but a contrary opinion is that M is entitled to room because there's enough space for her to fit between the hulls. Is it the the distance between the hulls that count, or is it the hull and boom? Looking for supporting arguments one way or the other... There are few rules or appeals that specifically mention the hull as opposed to the complete equipment on a boat. For example, there is no question that touching a sail constitutes contact, even if the sail is an out of control spinnaker. Touching a line dragging in the water is also contact. The only two cases I can think of where an unusual position of equipment would be questioned are the classic cartoon showing extreme spinnaker position at the finish line and a deliberate sudden repositioning of the boom or a sail to block or hit an overtaking boat. I think the classic example would be towing a 100' floating line while on starboard, and pulling it in when on port. In the situation you described it would appear that the W boat had a perfectly valid reason to have the boom extended over the side of the boat. The boom is part of the overall envelope of the W boat. I agree with your position. While I agree that W had a valid reason to have her boom out, I don't think W is *required* to have a valid reason. The fact is that the hulls were X cm wide and there was less than X cm between W's boom and L's hull when the overlap obtained. To me that says "no room". Unless someone can come up with a valid reason why W should be compelled to set her sail a certain way. BTW, I've searched through the rules and the casebook for examples of the notion of "equipment in normal position" and I don't see anything that applies here. Maybe I'm missing something... //Walt |
Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question
Walt wrote:
My *opinion* is that M is not entitled to room under 18.5, but a contrary opinion is that M is entitled to room because there's enough space for her to fit between the hulls. Is it the the distance between the hulls that count, or is it the hull and boom? Looking for supporting arguments one way or the other... Personally, I would not want to go in front of a protest committee and argue the claim that "room" meant the physical constraint of space between hulls. Is beam plus 1 inch "room?" It's also possible that once the boat in middle puts her nose in, the windward boat could not trim in her boom without clipping th eboat in the middle's forestay since it swings aft as it swings in. Oops! Gene Fuller wrote: There are few rules or appeals that specifically mention the hull as opposed to the complete equipment on a boat. For example, there is no question that touching a sail constitutes contact, even if the sail is an out of control spinnaker. Touching a line dragging in the water is also contact. The only two cases I can think of where an unusual position of equipment would be questioned are the classic cartoon showing extreme spinnaker position at the finish line and a deliberate sudden repositioning of the boom or a sail to block or hit an overtaking boat. Such as leaving the sprit out on a sportboat while sailing to windward? Or the case of Il Moro during one of the San Diego America's Cup, who gybed just before crossing the line so as to let their spinnaker blow out further in front... the judges called it by the relative positions of the stemhead, anyway (a call I disagreed with). I think the classic example would be towing a 100' floating line while on starboard, and pulling it in when on port. In the situation you described it would appear that the W boat had a perfectly valid reason to have the boom extended over the side of the boat. The boom is part of the overall envelope of the W boat. I agree with your position. Walt wrote: While I agree that W had a valid reason to have her boom out, I don't think W is *required* to have a valid reason. The fact is that the hulls were X cm wide and there was less than X cm between W's boom and L's hull when the overlap obtained. To me that says "no room". I also agree but there is no telling what a protest committe will decide. Unless someone can come up with a valid reason why W should be compelled to set her sail a certain way. BTW, I've searched through the rules and the casebook for examples of the notion of "equipment in normal position" and I don't see anything that applies here. Maybe I'm missing something... Is there a defined "normal position" for gear when maneuvering to start? There is no definite course or point of sail. Fresh Breezes- Doug King |
Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question
In article ,
DSK wrote: BTW, I've searched through the rules and the casebook for examples of the notion of "equipment in normal position" and I don't see anything that applies here. Maybe I'm missing something... Is there a defined "normal position" for gear when maneuvering to start? There is no definite course or point of sail. There's certainly nothing unseamanlike about letting your main luff so you can slow down. I do that whenever I'm picking up a mooring or sailing up to a dock. The whole "normal position" thing is really about the reason something is where it is. If it's there because there's some boat-handling reason for it to be there, then it's "normal". If it's only there because it gives you some tactical advantage to have it sticking out, then it's not "normal". "My boom was way out because I was luffing my main to slow down so I wouldn't be over early", that's normal position. "My boom was way out because I wanted to keep leeward boats away", that's not normal position. |
Continuing obstruction (RRS 18.5) question
Roy Smith wrote:
DSK wrote: BTW, I've searched through the rules and the casebook for examples of the notion of "equipment in normal position" and I don't see anything that applies here. Maybe I'm missing something... Is there a defined "normal position" for gear when maneuvering to start? There is no definite course or point of sail. Not that I can find anywhere. There's certainly nothing unseamanlike about letting your main luff so you can slow down. I do that whenever I'm picking up a mooring or sailing up to a dock. The whole "normal position" thing is really about the reason something is where it is. If it's there because there's some boat-handling reason for it to be there, then it's "normal". If it's only there because it gives you some tactical advantage to have it sticking out, then it's not "normal". Or if it's there by mistake, like letting a line drag behind you. "My boom was way out because I was luffing my main to slow down so I wouldn't be over early", that's normal position. "My boom was way out because I wanted to keep leeward boats away", that's not normal position. I agree with you on the meaning of "normal position", however there is nothing in the rules stating that you have to keep your equipment in normal position. In that regard it's sort of like the concept of "proper course" - we can agree on what it means, but there are actually only a few situations where the rules explicitly state that you must sail a proper course. Likewise, the only place I can find a notion of "equipment in normal position" is in the definitions of Overlap and Finish, and those cites don't proscribe having gear out of normal position. So, on the one hand, there is nothing in the rules compelling a boat to keep her gear in normal position. On the other hand, there are a few examples of boats being DQed or penalized for deliberately placing their equipment out of normal position for a tactical advantage. Is this one of them? Maybe Doug has it right with "there is no telling what a protest committe will decide." //Walt |
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:41 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2014 BoatBanter.com